Image of Gran Bali Hotel

Gran Bali Hotel

89 of 133 hotels in Benidorm

3 out of 5 from 60 reviews
4 stars
Calle del Actor Luis Prendes, 4, 03502 Benidorm, Spain

60 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    24
  • Good
    16
  • Average
    16
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sarah
13 years ago
I stayed in the Gran Bali with my boyfriend and his parents. I thought the hotel was lovely, very clean and the staff were very pleasant. I loved the shops in the hotel (jewellers, beauty products, gift shop)! The pool was clean and we didn't have any trouble getting a sunbed.

My only criticism is that it is slightly out of the way, so you have to get a bus or taxi into the centre of benidorm where all the shops and bars are. But the bus only cost 1 euro and the taxi wasn't very dear either. Buses were very regular.

The food was fine, but I'm quite a fussy eater, so I mainly stuck to chips, pasta, bread etc! There was lots of fish and meats. Loads of fresh fruit and a good variety of desserts.

The hotel's entertainment isn't great, same singer singing the same songs evry night! And they were all in Spanish, I would definately recommend going into the centre at night. Plenty of choice! Comedians, singers, hypnotists etc!

I had a brilliant holiday in Benidorm.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kwik Travel

Colin Wilson
13 years 1 month ago
My wife and I stayed here for two weeks. First impressions are excellent, beautiful building, grand reception and foyer.

We had a room facing the pool and sea in the smaller building which initially was great. However if you are looking for a few early nights then request a room at the other side of the hotel.

The entertainment is mostly at the pool side and is quite loud. It's also geared towards the Spanish with a Latino singer and a Spanish band in the bar also a dance troupe (Dancing to a Christmas song at 11.45, in July, what's that all about) thrown in for good measure. Same show every night, it was packed out every night too, some people live like Groundhog Day. Bar prices at night are ridiculous, a pint of local beer and a southern comfort was over 9 euro.

There are a few Brit bars dotted around the hotel and down towards the beach at Cala de Finestrat if that's your bag but most nights we either went into town or drank at the Diveya bar across from the hotel. 2 euro a pint and a friendly welcome.

Food was a hit or a miss, we were half board and the wife is a fussy eater but the standard of food was more often than not low, processed meats, cheap fatty cuts and repetitive fish, became very boring in the second week. Good thing is you can swap dinner for lunch and go somewhere decent at night if you wish. I've had buffets before on holiday but this one is just a rabble, poorly laid out and everything seems like a fight. Go early to avoid the busiest time.

Room was cleaned every day and had no complaints.

Gym was small but had everything you would expect 6 euro a go though. Minibar is good and cheap but you can always restock it from the supermarket across the road. Newsagents, pharmacy, and banks across the road.

Pool area is clean but gets very busy, lifeguards are good, stop idiots diving and using inflatables and balls.

The drains get a bit wiffy sometimes.

The beach is a few minutes walk away and is clean and accessible for wheelchair users and buggies. Catch the number 5 bus to Centro for your shopping and the 12 for the bars and night life. 1 euro takes you everywhere.

We did enjoy our holiday here but looks are deceiving with the Bali. We paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

-
13 years 1 month ago
The hotel was beautiful, clean and impressive views!! The reception staff were very friendly. We requested a room change when we first got there and there was not a problem at all! They always managed to answer questions when needed!
The maid came everyday, clean rooms, big and bathroom nice. No complaints about smelly drains or dust! Our room faced the pool, bit noisy if you are on a lower floor.
Entertainment was spanishy but 90% I would say of the guests were Spanish. I got the impression the hotel is very popular with Spaniards and is very cosmopolitan.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Ward
13 years 2 months ago
We have just returned after 1 week at this hotel, it was wonderful. hotel is absolutely spectacular.

Huge swimming pool with jacuzzi, maids visited every day and changed towels and also sheets if you wanted. It is quite a bit out of the way but you're on holiday and its quite nice to explore the area, supermarket just down the road and its visible from entrance to hotel.

Gran Bali has its own complex if you like its got its own set of shops, pharmacy, hairdressers and medical centre. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

The staff were friendly, entertainment was'nt too bad either. We would visit again and recommend it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
Steve
13 years 2 months ago
When we arrived the hotel looked impressive from outside on check in at reception was very busy and staff were not very helpful. Had a leak in room reported it at reception was not interested spoken to rep she also complained still took four days to fix.

Food same every day plates glass dirty ate out alot. Too far from main resort.

Entertainment same every night always in Spanish hotel very busy mostly Spanish holidaymakers. Staff only interested in the them. Our rep very helpful tried hard would not stay at hotel again and have stayed in better three star hotels.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Lynn
13 years 3 months ago
Our room was on the 32nd floor excellent views,the beds were not all in one room we had a sofa bed in one room with the other 3 beds in another, we moved the beds in one room. maids cleaned the room every day to a high standard fresh towels loo rolls.

The hotel itself we found very clean also very grand, but the main reception area was very busy just like a train station.
The staff on reception need to learn basic english although I am sure they understood when they wanted to!! very rude only one male receptionist seemed to want to help when asked others just did not want to know answered the telephone rather than deal with any enqs we had.
Drinks expensive 3,20 for a cup of coffee!!

Food disgusting cold same thing every night and we only stayed 7 nights! breakfast just as bad scrambled or poached eggs ran out of cups one morning waiters just shrugged shoulders said no more left, when he was asked in spanish about the cups he brought more out.
No hot plates left again just told ran out we would not be getting any more out.

Hotel location bit to far from old Benidorm although we were ok we hired A car for the week (I would suggest you take your sat nav with you!) local bus stop just around the corner from hotel.

Entertainment 2 bands one geared up for spanish OAP's the other group sang in english, both did put on a good show.
The 2 children and 1 adult in our group did join in the dancing lessons 6pm but only once!

We would not go back to this hotel after reading other comments if I had read them before we went I would not have gone! Do not go to this hotel well just have a look at it because that is the only reason they must have "Grand" in the title!


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: low cost beds

A. Martin
13 years 3 months ago
Gran Hotel Bali, very clean, very good, food good though not a lot of choice if you like fast food, microwaves available in dining room if food is only warm, location too far to walk into the town, buses (No5), every 20 mins outside hotel, 1 euro, about 10mins ride.

Market in Benidorm every Sun & Wed you would need to get a Taxi, approx 7 euros. Supermarket just across the road to stock up on drinks etc to take down to the pool.

Pools lovely & clean, could do with making more umbrellas available, no problem getting a sun bed. Beach 5mins walk down quite steep hill. Staff fine, light not working in bathroom repaired within a couple of hours.

Would recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Media Travel

Recommended
13 years 3 months ago
Myself and a girlfriend went to this hotel in june 2006. We were excited especially as the photos of the hotel looked amazing. We got to the hotel about 8pm and couldn't believe how huge and gorgeous this hotel was and all for only
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
G
13 years 5 months ago
Hotel, other reviews have said the building is 5 star-other things not so and that seems about right.

Our room on floor 12 of the small building had fantastic views of the whole bay with balcony front and side as well. Good bathroom with seperate shower cubicle. Plenty of storage space on hand.

The mini - bar was cheap and operated on a trust system of payment. Safe costs were only E1.30 a day again cheap.
Cleaning was v. good standard.

As others say the reception and pool areas were top notch. Rides to the 48th floor of the main block cost E1 but youll have to queue-show room card-buy ticket-queue again. Question if its worth it.

Entertainment? dodgy! 'dancing lessons' were sort of Spanish line dancing and looked improvised although there were plenty of takers -ok if you like that stuff. Besides that nothing really except iffy singers and a couple of kids things-apart from an erotic show Fri and Sat nights-again if you like that stuff.

Now the food. Varied from excellent on occasion to inedible (Tues and Mon nights) when it was both cheap and nasty. Breakfast, plus evening starters and sweets were all ok really but wont describe some of the 'main course options'.

Staff by and large were helpful. v.good (free) secure service for left luggage.

Watch the evening bar prices -E9.60 for 3 soft drinks is a rip off! likewise hotel gym at E6 a time.

The location you know when you book so dont be surprised that its quite at night. Taxis to town only E5-7. Bus costs E1 take No 5 to Parche Elche every few mins. Buses elsewhere ? couldnt find the stops!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: n/a

Gill Smith
13 years 7 months ago
The hotel was clean and spacious.We asked for a twin-bedded room and were very surprised to find that we had a family suite. This consisted of a large twin-bedded room which also contained 4 chairs and a coffee table, as well as the built in wardrobes,mini bar, dressing table and tv.

There was a door leading into a separate room with double bed,bedside tables and dressing table, the wardrobe for this room was situated in the twin room.The bathroom was marble and large, plenty of space for a family, as besides the toilet, bidet and washbasin there was a separate shower, and a bath with shower with sliding enclosure.

The soundproofing is practically non-existant, the marble floor tiles can be very noisy if someone up above you is clattering around.We didn't have a balcony, but didn't ask for one as we liked the room that we had.

The chambermaid always rang the bell before coming in, and if you did not want your room cleaned immediately, would return later.

We were in the smaller hotel part, which contrary to what other people have written, did contain some Spaniards as well. We used the upper dining room as the lower one was closed except for weekends, when there seemed to be more of an influx of Spaniards for the weekend.

We never had problems getting a table.The food was the usual buffet style, and considering what they charge for full board I thought that they did very well. OK, buffets do get repetitious, but they do in most places, and if the menu had been listed as a table d'hote there would have been a choice of 5 or 6 main courses.

They did try to appeal to a variety of tastes. There was always a choice of 2 soups, a salad buffet. There were always chips and either chops, chicken or steaks or fish being cooked, and a rice or pasta dish, besides the other main courses.Desserts were disappointing, but that applies to most Spanish hotels.

The cold baked apples were nice, and the bread and butter pudding, but forget the custard.There were lots of small cakes, which I did not try, yoghurts, creme caramel and icecreams from the freezer.There seemed to be a fondness for jelly, adults as well as as children, and lots of sprinkles.

The fresh fruit was good, the melon, pineapple and oranges were especially great.Breakfast was bread rolls, a few types of bread, jams, etc, yoghurts, about 4 cereals, fruit juice, bacon, sausage, tomato, eggs(fried or scrambled on different days)There were also hard boiled eggs, cheese and ham.T he bacon and sausage were a little fatty, but that is the Spanish way.

The staff were hard working, clean table cloths after each person.They were mostly very pleasant, not chatty but they were busy. There was the odd sullen member of staff as there always is.

There was a daily entertainment programme which we did not join in, apart from sitting in the bar in the evening with the duo,singer and organist. Geared more to our age group, we are pensioners, but a lot of younger people go into Benidorm anyway.

We found the area quiet which was good for us, but might not be for some people.The beach was down a hill for Poniente.It is about 2 kms to walk to Benidorm old town along the very pleasant front.

If you don't want to walk the no5 bus takes you to the old town(Parque Elche) from a bus stop about a 100yds away.It is 1 euro, and a very good service.There is also a no 15 bus which goes to the main drag Lincon de Roix altough we did not catch this.

If you want to walk to Cala de Finestrat the best way is to walk to the left of the hotel towards the Supermercado and turn left. If you walk in the direction of the Monika Holidays blocks, and turn left there and walk along, then you cutout the steepish hill, and the rather unsightly graffiti and 3 wrecked cars on one site.It is a much pleasanter walk, althought it is a nice cove, there is a tremendous amount of building work going on, and we preferred Poniente beach area.

We enjoyed the holiday and the hotel. One thing that it would benefit from for winter holidays is an indoor pool. There are several outdoor pools but if the weather is bad,an indoor pool would be good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Happy Holidayz

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.