Image of Chaika Beach Hotel

Chaika Beach Hotel

69 of 104 hotels in Sunny Beach

3 out of 5 from 45 reviews
5 stars
Sunny Beach, Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort, 8240 Burgas (Bourgas), Bulgaria, Bulgaria

45 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    23
  • Average
    8
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Paul And Pauline
14 years 1 month ago
Our first impression was excellent the reception area was lovely, until we got to our room the 5 star rating dropped to just to say 3 star. The brochure said we would have a mini bar in the room but it was just a fridge. The maid was excellent cleaned the room every day and clean towels every day.

We thought the food was very poor lukewarm which is a breeding ground for germs and very cramped and badly organized hot with no air conditioning.

The hotel staff did not speak very good English and seemed to cater more for the Germans.

The so called Irish bar turned out to be the seaman
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan

Helen Tanner
14 years 1 month ago
We arrived at roughly at 8.30 in he evening went up to our rooms , our friend had rooms interconnecting, but were happy with them.

We got to our room, it was lovely, right on the front of the hotel, with superb views, overlooking the sea and promenade, the room wasn't bad either.
Went down next morning to breakfast, when you are used to just cereals its hard to eat what is put out everyday, was glad when I got home to have my cereals it was ok, evening meal was better, more to choose from , but definitely aimed at the Germans , more than us English.

I found the hotel staff friendly, they loved my daughters. When they went to get our room key and always made a fuss of them .

The one thing I was not happy about was, because we were there the last week of season, they started to do some refurbishments near our room one afternoon being without electric for about half an hour , didn't let it bother us though.

Ooh and what
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Dave
14 years 2 months ago
The initial impression of this hotel was rather good, I liked the decor and it is well laid out. The room was comfortable enough although it lacked wardrobe/drawer space. Unfortunately the standard of cleaning of the room was very poor. The floor was given a quick run over with a mop but that seemed to be the only cleaning done, the bathroom was never touched by the maid. The bed linen was only changed once in two weeks and we fequently had to go to reception for clean towels and toilet rolls. The food was generally poor but some evenings one could find something edible, eating out was so cheap anyway that this wasn't a major problem for us. Some of the English translations of the menu were rather amusing. Some of the hotel staff were really friendly and helpful but others seemed as if they couldn't be bothered and didn't want to help. The hotel is right on the beach and is a good base for exploring the resort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Amy
14 years 2 months ago
When I visited Chakia Beach Hotel In Bulgaria My first Impressions Were very good, untill breakfast when I didnt eat any thing because it was very different to england.The beach is clean and the rooms are spacious the cleaners and other staff apperaed rather rude. One night I left My bag under the restaurant table, about 1 hour later I realised and went back to collect it but it was gone. We spoke to the restaurant managerbut she wasnt really interested, and it had just so happend that the persistent waitress that tried to get every penny out of us for drinks had gone home. We asked around the reception checked the bar and rooms for any mistakes but we still didnt find it. We hapened to be the last out of the restaurant that night so it must have been a cleaner or one of the restaurant staff. we left a couple of days later without my bag which had my phone in my moneyin and my jewellery.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Laura
14 years 2 months ago
When we first came to the hotel we were like wow amazing its so beautiful clean and everything.

The hotel food was mostly german and some english not much choice for thr kids though.

The location was beautiful we had a sea veiw and at night it was beautiful. The staff were grumpy alot didn't smile much and were kinder to the germans than the english.

Not really alot of entertaniment a irish bar/saliors pub was a bit deer and the people were not friendly, there was a dino bar next to the hotel it was good but not many people go in there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan holidays

Recommended
Yvonne
14 years 2 months ago
The food was terrible, they re-used left overs from the previous night, food was luke warm. Chipped cups and plates, the tables in the restaurant were not cleaned very well. Highchairs for babies filthy.

Staff not very friendly - luke warm I would describe them.

The lifts were constantly breaking down.

I would never say that this was a 4* hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

14 years 3 months ago
We arrived at 11.30 at night and was given a sort of packed lunch/dinner, due to lateness of night I suppose. OK, we didnt like it or eat it but at least they made the effort to give us something.
I`ve read some bad reviews of this hotel, so I wasnt looking forward to it that much. In future I`ll keep an open mind because we really liked it, so much that we are going again next year.
One of the things that impressed me was that at 9am every morning, the hotel lifeguard (the tall guy with sunglasses on) went around every sunbed and took all the towells off that people had put on and gone off somewhere. He put them on his chair which is just by the pool. The looks on peoples faces when they came back at 11ish was great.The sign by the pool does say that you cant book sunbeds, in german and english.
Just one thing I dont know why the "Irish bar" is so called, there is nothing irish about it, and it is dearer than everywhere else.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Paul
14 years 3 months ago
I read a lot of bad reports before I visited this hotel and i was a little nervous before i arrived.
However I would like to say this hotel was great first impressions are very stylish, the reception area is really unusual the room I was giving was spacy, clean, brightly furnished, unfortunately didn't have a great view, mostly the hotel car park.
The staff i found to be courteous and friendly some did not speak english but there was normaly 1 or 2 english speakers in attendance.
Food was better than i was led to be would be!!!!
definately try and go again!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
D Philp
14 years 3 months ago
Chaika beach hotel is nice and clean and comfortable and very close to the excellent beach i dont think it is 5 star standard but its Bulgaria so you cant expect what you get in spain its because its different it is so good staff were all friendly and tried to help out as much as possible food in restaurant not to good we did not go to the restaurant at night we ate out but breakfast was edible if not a bit cold which seems to be the norm in hotels
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Heahter Rae
14 years 4 months ago
Maybe we were just unlucky but we had problems from day 1. My 2 kids and i were put into a room with no bath (apparently these are single rooms) My son slipped while paddling through 3 inches of water in the bathroom ad smacked his head on the tiles. Our rep (Tracey was a star) got us moved to a far better room (still not 5 star).

We had one full linen change in the 2 weeks, went withouot clean towels for 4 days, twisted my ankle on an electric cable which snaked across the main dining area floor. beds werent' made properly, glasses & ashtrays left unwashed.

14 power cuts in 8 days was extreme - 4 were in the one day. The pool has no shallow end and even me, at 5'3'' couldn't stand up in it. Ball games were prohibited in the pools so kids couldn't play, only swim. We had to ask for loo roll and (having issued t us in the main reception area, we were told it would be delvered to our room. It turned up 4 hours later.

Bread and rolls at dinner time were hard (having been left over from breakfast) Flies were frequent visitor to the bread baskets. I could go on but I'm keeping the ful story for First Choice. If you want a really decent hotel that provides what you have paid for. Try the Alba or Neptun in Sunny beach, both are 4 star but totally ouclass the 5 star Chaika Beach. Sunny Beach itself is a fantastic place. Most people (except the Germans) are so friendly, espcially the shopkeepers.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum