Image of Amore Hotel

Amore Hotel

156 of 173 hotels in Marmaris

3 out of 5 from 13 reviews
2 stars

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Withers
14 years 11 months ago
Checked in at 6am took ages to check in as one boy on reception and about 8 parties to check-in.

We only stayed for 1 hour, as the sewage smell was unbearable in our 1st floor room. No pillowcases on the bed and the pillows stained yellow, towels were grey and when we complained about it we had no sympathy at all we went to my sisters room on the 4th floor and the smell was much worse, so we all checked out.

I think the huge dogs dirt on the dining room floor finished us off. We all found another hotel and booked in there for the week,we returned later to see the rep, to be greeted by all the other pepole we checked in with complaining too, one had been robbed of a large sum of money in the few hours she had been there, and she hadnt even left the hotel yet,we told them where we were staying around the corner for a very reasonable price and they came too.

The whole hotel and pool area is very run down and should be condemed unfit for human habitation,the rep wasnt a bit supprised when we all complained, I think they are used to it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Glen
15 years ago
When we arrived in marmaris we were informed that the hotel we had originally booked was not available to us.

The reps informed us we would be staying in Birmar 2, which they claimed was a lovely hotel. On arriving at Birmar 2, we were given a room with one single bed and one double. The bathroom had a small shower which was not connected to the wall, the taps would not switch off once they were on. The water was so bad that if you got it in your eyes they would sting for up to an hour afterwards, the water also stunk, you felt dirtier after you had showered.

The balcony door would not lock, plug sockets were hanging off the wall and air conditioning,which was extra, did not cool the room in any way.

Breakfast was a joke, a basket full of eggs, some olives, cordial and crusty bread. You were not allowed to bring water or alcohol from the supermarkets into our hotel, if you did they attempted to confiscate it.

The bar staff appeared to stare at you and make comments about you in Turkish before openly laughing at you. They were intimidating, giving you dirty looks and generally being very unhelpfull.

The pool was small and uninviting. I got an eye infection from daring to go in it, and had to spend the last two days of my holiday putting eye drops in once an hour.

I'm not sure whether my eye infection was due to the shower or the pool.

This hotel was disgusting and should not be open to the public. Its only redeeming feature was its location which was very central. But even the appearance of the hotel from the outside was a joke, it was recognisable by the fact that it had white flaky paint on the walls and a broken drain running down the side.

I will never holiday with Goldtrail again, if this hotel was in England the building would have been shut down.

Disgusting!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Kevin
15 years ago
Arrived at the Birmar at 6am and after filling in the registration form was shown to our room by the receptionist. I use a stick for mobility but found he carried my case up to the lift on the 1st floor without being asked. We were on the 2nd floor and upon getting out of the lift found ourselves in an open atrium with a glass roof. Each floor was painted a different colour and it gave a bright appearance instead of the usual dowdy corridors!

The room allocated was basic but clean, the colour of the walls were pink which was bit unusual. It faced on to the main road so it did get traffic noise and you could hear music from the bars but if I wanted to sleep I simply shut the patio doors so that wasnt a problem. I couldnt recommend my room for someone with a young child as the balcony was not child-proof, ie: there was a large gap between the railing and the top of the balcony wall - not a problem for adults though.

The bedding was clean and consisted of a fitted sheet with another one as a cover. As the weather was hot this was more than sufficient.

There was constant hot water but as the tap water contains a lot of minerals it did have a tendancy to leave your eyes smarting when showering. We had a problem with the toilet not flushing but it was fixed within 20 minutes of reporting it to reception.

The pool area was clean with plenty of sunbeds and a couple of airbeds for the pool, however there were a few cracked tiles which did give it a "tired" look. The pool was small but clean.

The bar was open 24 hours, the prices were reasonable and the food was good.

Breakfast was between 7.30 and 9.30 and was the usual Turkish fare of olives, tomatoes, cucumber, feta cheese and bread along with orange squash. It was always fresh and you could have as much as you wanted.

In the week I was there the room was serviced 3 times with clean towels and bedding and a general tidy up each time.

The staff were always pleasant and nothing was a problem to them.

The hotel is situated on the main road in Marmaris and is set back 1 block from the beach so I found its location to be ideal.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Recommended
Bob
15 years ago
This has to be the worse hotel in Turkey.
It was a brothel before being converted (and not very well) to a hotel, it was noisy and the furniture looked like it had been put together by five year olds.

The staff were not to bad, it was reasonable clean, and the Turkish breakfast was quite nice.

But the small pool had bleach (or something similar in it), the showers had the same sort of water coming out of it. It was so bad that we used to go to the beach, or other hotels are use there swimming pools, and if you have children with you as some couples did the balcony walls were very low and certainly not safe.

There was a notice in reception that no drinks or food were to be brought into the hotel, and that they had to be purchased at the 24 hour bar.
I noticed that the price of a beer was twice that in some other bars, so should imagine that the rest of the catering delights were similarly priced. We smuggled our treats back in anyway, and as for entertainment there wasn't any.

The only good thing we could say about this hotel is that we only stayed one week and not two, although I must admit the location was ideal.

Mararis is a good resort, a bit like a Turkish Benidorm
with lots to do and see but if you go there avoid Goldtrail Travel, and the Birmar 2 doss-house.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Barry
15 years 1 month ago
This hotel (Birmar 2) is a disgrace. The hotel stood out from the rest of the street because of all the flaking paint and the leaking drain to the side of the building.

The cleanliness standards were the worst I have ever seen in twenty years of world travel (I have been to Turkey, Olu Deniz before as well as Tunisia, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, America, France, Belgium, Holland, Spain Japan and many more places).

The bed sheets were never changed and the towels were only changed once after repeated complaints to staff. When they were changed they looked like they were taken from a laundry basket and were unusable. The toilet stank and the toilet brush stood in a bucket of stagnant water and was covered in human waste. The tap water was highly acidic to the point that you couldn't even wash your face without making your eyes sting and soap never lathered. The Electrical wires hung out of holes in the wall, the balcony window was cut too small and was held in place in only a few places by the rubber gasket and was cracked and chipped. Bed sheets were full of holes. The room was not cleaned at all on our last two days. There were no amenities in the room eg: kettle, tea, coffee etc. The air conditioning had to be paid for separately.

The breakfast room had bowls of olives with rings of filth around the top and a kettle that stood in a metal tray of water. The breakfast was awful. Bread, cheese, olives, jam, tomatoes and orange squash. The Elmen had boiled eggs, tea, watermelon etc too. Fresh orange juice was
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Bev
15 years 1 month ago
We got put in the Birmar2 because the hotel we booked was over booked! (the Alize) they expected us to make do with 2 beds and there was 3 of us!.

The Birmar2 was full of people who had booked elsewhere with Goldtrail. It was a dump, filthy rooms, no door handles, no curtain on balcony door so every one could see in, water in shower was brown and tasted foul! Bedding never changed and towels only changed after 5 days when we took the old ones ro reception and demanded clean ones!. Very noisy with row of bars and restaurants next door, could hear music even with window open!

We've been to Marmaris 5 times in 3 years and love the place but we want be booking with Goldtrail again!

The room we were in was a family room and only cost
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Alex Tipping
15 years 1 month ago
The hotel we stayed was actually Birmar 2, we knew this was where we were allocated before travel.

It was basic but quite nice. It had a lift (unlike many other turkish hotels). We had our bathroom cleaned and beds made, clean towels left daily. Our cleaner, infact excelled herself in tidying away our belongings neatly also (without medling amoungst them).

The staff where very friendly and played football around the pool with us and others and mingled with all visitor as well they could. The breakfast was a traditional turkish one but was very nice and always fresh.

The location was fantasic in the middle of everything.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Recommended
Jamie
15 years 1 month ago
Bimar 2...

We paid for half board, and arrived at the Birmar 2 hotel, this was a B&B hotel. We didn't do any activities for 2 weeks as we had to buy all our own food which was quite expensive...

The hotel was an absolute joke. I was electrocuted by the card-in-box system for electricity, this was hanging out of the wall.

Our room wasn't cleaned for 8 days, the air con was terrible and was extra. I was even robbed as I slept (they went through my jeans and took out cash) because I left my door open. Someone must be laughing at us being put in such a disgusting place.

We paid 800 pounds for 2 weeks and the hotel is 10 pound per night. Goldtrail - am furious with them and am demanding my money back with sufficient evidence to do so.

As for the hotel, I am laughing writing this as it was such a joke!

GOLDTRAIL YOU NEED TO GET YOUR ACT TOGETHER. FAST....
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Iris And Stef
15 years 1 month ago
When arriving at Marmaris we were put into the Birmar 2 hotel as the rep told us that the Birmar 1 which we were meant to be staying in had been over booked. We would have to stay at the Birmar 2 for one night.

After dragging suitcases upstairs for me and my disabled mam (without any help from the staff) we reached our floor. It is no joke when I tell you that this hotel must have been a refurbished prison.

The rooms surrounded the outside of the floor then there was a shear drop in the middle with only a metal rail to prevent you from falling. (deffinatly not suitable for young children)If you have ever seen prisoner cell block H this is what it was like.

The room itself was disgusting. The water coming out of the broken shower was brown and the toilet seat had been broken off. Our patio doors didnt shut properly (therefore letting mosqitos in. The wardobe door had come off its hinges and been propped back up against the side of the wardrobe.

We didn't even get sheets for then bed. We had a base sheet then a towel to cover yourself with- but what happens if you use the towel for the shower? It was disgusting. So we waited for the rep. In the mean time we spoke to other people in the hotel who had complained of having money stolen and children sleeping on a matress on the floor.

The water in the swimming pool or should I say hole in the floor was causing irritation to the childrens skin. One lad jumped in the pool with blue shorts on and come out with white ones on! Bleach!!!!!

The rep at first proved to be very snotty until I explained that the stairs were too much for my mum and that we must be moved. At this she began to help. However she still didn't put us back in the birmar 1 where we were meant to be. Instead we were booked into the Guldal Hotel which proved to be quite a lucky accident.

PLEASE DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL!!!!!!! apart from it being very unhygenic is also extremely dangerous. The only good part about it was its location. In total we last approximately 6 hours in this hotel and in my opinion that was far to long!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Michelle
15 years 2 months ago
I only lasted in this hotel one night in my 2 weeks stay as I had booked to go to Beimar one and they had located us to another Beimar thats linked to this hotel called beimar 2.

I was put in a room at the top of the hotel which had a camp bed for me to sleep on with no mattress and a very small window in the room which would not shut which made the air condition I paid for go out the window and let mosqitios in. The window on the bathroom door was smashed so there was no privacy at all.

There was no funiture in the rooms apart from 2 plastic chairs which were dirty. The towels were old grey threading and rough. The pool was very small and dirty it took the workers an hour to come and remove a broken glass that was at the bottom of the pool.

Apart from that the workers were quite nice if you caught them in a good moment.

The bar in the hotel was a 24 hour bar which caused a lot of noise as people were drinking all night making a lot of noise.

The location of the hotel was grand it was close to beach and basically in the middle of everything you wanted shops foods place ect.

I would definatley not visit this hotel ever again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.