Image of Club Excelsior Hotel

Club Excelsior Hotel

27 of 173 hotels in Marmaris

4 out of 5 from 113 reviews
3 stars
Hatipirimi Mh., 48700 Çamdibi/Muğla Province, Turkey

113 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    57
  • Very Good
    42
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mike
9 years 5 months ago
Went 1st week in May 2011, first time to Marmaris and also at the Club Excelsior. Staff were welcoming and friendly, didn’t’ notice the close attention to you all the time that has been often mentioned on here, I was left to do what I wanted to do and no questions were asked of me. Staff quickly got used to the fact that I was on my own and wanted to be left to my own devices and never gave me any hassle.

Had the first nights meal in their restaurant, but from then on went out each night to somewhere else for the evening meal and ended back at the hotel for a last drink before going to bed. The entertainment was usually still on but it was always over by midnight so that those rooms overlooking the pool/restaurant area could actually get some sleep!

I was in the main hotel bit in room 508 at the back, so wasn’t disturbed by any of the goings on by the pool/restaurant area. Facilities at the hotel were good, hairdressers, small shop, jewellers, spa, tattoo place (if that’s your thing), even a doctor, so way better than many places I’ve been to, a definite tick there!

Would I go back? Don’t know TBH. On my last night at the Excelsior a party of 6 arrived who had been going there for the last 10 years they were greeted as long-time friends, which is good, but personally I can’t see what would make people go back to the same place every year for 10 years, it was good there, but not that good - plenty of other hotels in Turkey make you feel just as welcome, so I guess it’s down to what you as a person want from your holiday!

Marmaris itself was interesting, the harbour area is stunning (walked around it many times) but the rest is far too "British" for my liking - not as authentic Turkish as I would have preferred but that's just me......... 70% of the tourists there are British so they have catered for that market I guess.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Brooks Family
We will definitely be going back
10 years 2 months ago
Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Excelsior and had a fantastic holiday. The hotel was really clean and the pool area was also really clean with the busboys going around all day long collecting empty glasses and picking up any rubbish.

The pool only had a small shallow end and then there was quite a drop to the 1.2m mark so we found it easier for our daughter to have armbands on so she could use the whole pool without us worrying. The slides go into the deep end so it meant she could use the slides and we didn't have to worry about her when she landed in the water.

The waiters and staff were brilliant. Very friendly and helpful and there were plenty of them to serve you drinks and food all day long. Lisa and Dodo did the entertainment which was good fun during the day and there was plenty of variety. We particularly enjoyed the pool dancing. You didn't feel too pressured to join and if you said no, they left you alone.

We had breakfast there every morning with a full English costing 5.95L (the cheapest thing on the breakfast menu). We also had a few evening meals there which were lovely too - always with free bread. The Sunday roast was really nice, although the Yorkshire puddings weren't up to much! The facilities at the hotel were great.

There was free air con in the bedroom and then you could pay to add it in the other room for 38L for a fortnight. The spa was really nice (I was lucky enough to win a free Turkish bath which was really enjoyable). The tattooist was brilliant with an English assistant to talk you through everything. We got our tattoos on the last day (as they recommend) and he was excellent. All the needles were opened up and set up in front of you so you could see they were all new and sterilised. I would definitely recommend someone fancying a tattoo to pay him a visit as he was very patient and helped with designs and spoke really good English.

The only down side to the Excelsior is that one roll of toilet roll is provided on arrival then you have to buy the rest for your stay. Luckily there is a shop on hand where you can buy your supplies but I think that toilet roll should be provided for the whole of your stay. Also the sunbeds were really crammed close together and if you went down to the pool after 8.30 you couldn't get a sunbed so my husband had to get up at 8 every morning to put our towels down which became quite a pain for him.

If you are going to buy sun tan lotion then the supermarket opposite the Excelsior is a lot cheaper. Everyone was so friendly and made such a fuss of our 6 year old daughter that we wouldn't hesitate to go back to the Exelsior. It is situated in a great spot, you just walk to the end of the street, turn right and then you have all the bars and restaurants.

It was reasonably quiet at night (no loud music was heard in our room as the music all has to be turned off at 12) but we had the odd disturbed night from people running up and down the corridors and slamming doors - but you can get that problem anywhere you stay. My husband and I slept on the sofa bed in the lounge which was really comfortable and our daughter slept in the bedroom. There were plenty of sockets, a microwave, kettle and double toaster plus a double hob (although we never used the cooking facilities as we always ate out). We will definitely be going back to Club Exelsior.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Babes
10 years 2 months ago
we stayed in the exelsior for 2 weeks its was in a good location, very noisy until about 4am ,the maid were pretty good,hotel food was ok only had breakfast their but was hounded every night to eat their by ali mostly,entertainment during day was okay but a night it was all about money,not much acts on ,the kids show was the highlight for our 2weeks apart from the break dancers.i would go to turkey again but cant see the why people go year after year,
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Marion And Christine
10 years 4 months ago
Just returned from a weeks stay at Exelsior and loved it. Staff work very hard to make everything as clean and comfortable as possible. Pool area excellent, very handy for snacks and drinks so don't have to wander too far from sun loungers and Mario always on hand to bring cocktails after hard day's sun bathing!!
At night, enjoyed lovely meal in restaurant served by Ahmet, Ali, Emri and others, excellent waiters, couldn't have done enough for us.
Highlight of entertainment was Muzo, Jacko and bar staff dancing on top of bar doing "Wazzup" - brilliant!!!!
Havent laughed so much and had such a relaxing and enjoyable holiday for ages, would definately like to go back. Not sure if would still enjoy at height of season but in May was not too busy but weather was hot hot hot :)
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Marion And Christine
10 years 4 months ago
Just returned from a weeks stay at Exelsior and loved it. Staff work very hard to make everything as clean and comfortable as possible. Pool area excellent, very handy for snacks and drinks so don't have to wander too far from sun loungers and Mario always on hand to bring cocktails after hard day's sun bathing!!
At night, enjoyed lovely meal in restaurant served by Ahmet, Ali, Emri and others, excellent waiters, couldn't have done enough for us.
Highlight of entertainment was Muzo, Jacko and bar staff dancing on top of bar doing "Wazzup" - brilliant!!!!
Havent laughed so much and had such a relaxing and enjoyable holiday for ages, would definately like to go back. Not sure if would still enjoy at height of season but in May was not too busy but weather was hot hot hot :)
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Sue And Roy Phelan
10 years 4 months ago
Just returned from our first visit to Turkey, and were not disapointed, All the staff were very helpful especially Ali who looked after us all week in the Restaurant, also the entertainment team who worked hard keeping every body occupied throughout the day, and evening, the room was excellant and kept clean by the lovely maid.
We would visit again, but not in the busy season,
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Debbie
10 years 4 months ago
This was our first stay in Turkey, recommended by a mate who goes every year....can see why...the staff fall over themselves to make you welcome.

Rooms were very clean and big, maids were very friendly and helpful and the entertainment staff, Julie and all the bar staff, Adam, Apo and them were all lovely.

We will definately be booking there again...the weather was amazing too!! Excellent holiday....
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Co-opTravel

Recommended
Sezen
10 years 11 months ago
We do not accpet reviews from the country where the accommodation is situated.

If you are returning to the UK please submit then

Admin
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ourselves

11 years ago
Hotel was great loads to do ( even if like me you dont like bingo )Everyone trys to make you welcome .
food was ok better than most in marmaris itself.
BUT BEWARE YOU HAVE TO BUY THE DRINKS FROM THE BAR
even though its self catreing ,they will take drinks out of your bags if not from bar
but appart from this it is a good hotel kids will love it.
word of warning turkey is no longer very cheap catching up with spain
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
Glen And Sandra English
11 years ago
Stayed in the Club Exelsior for 2 weeks in September 2009. Weather still fantastic last 2 weeks of september. Hotel excellent canrecommend it and returning next year with wifes sister and husband. Hotel food good even though ate out and on trips most of the time. Trips booked with uncle John at the end of the road on the left He gave very good service at the right price. Even picked us up in his own car. Hotel room very smart and spacious and air con worked very well and was needed. Receptionists were very very helpful and took every enquiry seriously. Even recalled our room number on every key request. I am am bit picky on hotels having been to some rough ones over the years. This I can recommend to anybody except people I hate. I dont want them knowing about it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.