Image of Maxwell Holiday Club

Maxwell Holiday Club

78 of 173 hotels in Marmaris

4 out of 5 from 33 reviews
3 stars
Ismet Inonu Cad. No : 16, Marmaris, Turkey

33 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    12
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lewis
We all loved it and will be going back next year
12 years ago
We had a fantastic time at Maxwell holiday club, All the bar staff were brilliant and very friendly, even the ones with little English were friendly. The hotel family rooms were very big, ours had a large living room, kitchen and two large bed rooms.

The maids came every day to empty the bins and every Tuesday and Thursday to change the bedding, although they would do it more when needed (with young children).

The food in the bar was always good, and the bar had different entertainment on every night. It is very close to the beach and shops. We all loved it, will be going back next year and we love all the staff including Paddy Mehmet and even the manager.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
T Williams
12 years ago
Just returned from a week at the Maxwell Holiday Club and what a dissapointment! The comments i have read about it being clean and tidy must come from people that are acostomed to dirty living! The cleaners come once a day to empty the bins and poke round your belongings and certainly never sweep or mop the floors. There is mould on the bedroom walls, shower curtains and bathroom floor (see photos) i assume they know this as there is a sign asking guests not to throw towels on the floor! The shower has no pressure and the water fluctuates between being scalding hot to freezing cold!
The air con costs £42 a week and only works intermittently, frequently throws water over the beds and turns itself off whenever it wants. The reception staff speak very poor english and pretend they do not understand whenever you try to complain about anything. The electricity was on and off all the time, curtain rails fell down when we closed curtains, double beds only had single sheets on them, the balcony was full of leaves and rubbish and the gridded area around the pool (for overspill) was so old it broke if stepped on leaving big exposed holes (photo). Every guest we spoke to had a complaint about something and mainly it was the cleanliness. The hotel is described as a family hotel but was mainly occupied by groups of rowdy teenagers that kept everyone awake until 4am and then the pool attendant started noisily opening up the sunloungers at 6.45am so we hardly got any sleep at all - must have been a nightmare for any families with young children! We came back exhausted rather than refreshed and couldnt wait to return to the clenliiness of our own home! I wouldnt let my dog sleep there! Avoid, Avoid, Avoid!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hays Travel

Vicki
12 years 1 month ago
From the day after we arrived we were asked to change rooms on a daily basis, as we were only there for a week we refused but it did not stop them keep hassling us about it. They should of put us in the right room from the beginning. We were not alone on this every day someone was at reception being made to move rooms. Air conditioning was diabolical(blew warm air) and was very expensive. We could hear every word spoken in the next aprt - even a woman being sick all night down the loo! We could even smell their shower gel when they showered. To use our bathroom we had to turn the taps on so it would disguise the noise and so no one could hear us. Did not go around the pool it looked chaotic, beds next to each other with no spaces and the pool looked minging. I lived in Marmaris for 6 years and have stayed at better aprts, its ok if you dont mind a cheap hol and roughing it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomascook

Recommended
Mc Cort
12 years 11 months ago
i ve stayed here loads of times before but not again its gone to the dogs .the staff are rubbish (except for the maids),entertainment . loads of families with ear infections from the pool. its a case of max not so well than maxwell. never again
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Ros
12 years 11 months ago
We book an apartment for 6 and were surprised by how spacious these were. They had an en suite and also a bathroom, so 2 toilets were great. They had 3 good balcony's. The cleanliness was good as cleaned everyday and towels and sheets also changed. The location was about 10 minutes walk to the centre which was easily found. The food would have been quite expensive compared to down town. Hotel staff were curtious. Entertainment didn't last long but this seemed to be the case everywhere. I would visit this apartment again but again would book for 6 as the apartments for 4 where meant to be quite small.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Carrie And Gaz
13 years 10 months ago
we arrived at the Maxwell early morning and were greeted and taken to our room 3 floors up with 3 small children but we didnt mind too much. Our room was lovely, the shower curtain was pretty disgusting and the balcony door in the childrens room didnt lock. The double electric hob only worked on one side but overall it was a nice room. The food and drinks were well over priced and the entertainment wasnt the best. A member of staff started a fight with a lad one night in the bar resulting in a gang of turkish men arriving and scaring everyone to death. I'm glad we werent at the bar with our children that night. The pool was never cleaned while we were there which is probably where my daughter, son and partner picked up the ear infections from.Many more people had ear infections while we were there. The pool area was shabby. A bar was missing from around the kiddies pool which meant an adventurous child could have climbed through and fallen into the very deep larger pool. This was replaced after a week. Numerous holes around the pool where grids or bricks were missing, one of which my foot slipped down. The floor was very slippery someone fell nearly every day. Trying to get a sun lounger was a joke, people were even leaving towels at night in our first week however it was much quieter the second week. A couple had there safety deposit box emptied and were treated terribly. Apart from all this we did have a good holiday but I would definately not use the Maxwell again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas Cook

Shantell
13 years 10 months ago
just goy back from the bedest holtel i have ever stay,d in feel like i have been in the homeless for a week dont go save your money they are not helpfull dont want to give you your rooms when you get there they try,d puting all 10 of us in 1 room would never go again it as put me of turky for ever.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: holiday4u

Michelle
13 years 10 months ago
just back on the 16th september from turkey .1st time there and we had an absolute ball.this hotel on arrival wasnt realli appealing to me but few days in i loved it.was there for 2 weeks all of us loved it the bar staff...lucas sunny ozzy victor deniz carlos luckie were brilliant definately made our holiday worthwile!entertainment in this hotel was realli good the 1st week..sort of died down the 2nd week but we still had fun ! in a good location just walk down the street to get to the beach front! food in hotel also good although i didnt eat much but friends say it was nice all the same.definately will be back next year still keep in contact with lucas lukie and deniz they were brilliant ;P.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: qwerty travel

Recommended
Jay Asho
13 years 11 months ago
Review deleted. To remain unbiased we do not allow reviews posted from the country the hotel is in.

If you are posting while on holiday, but resubmit your review on your return home.

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Viv & Steve
13 years 11 months ago
We had a one bed apartment and it was very small,tiny balcony and got very hot even though we had air con,the only good thing was the bathroom which was fine.
The "pool" (if you can call it that)did not accomadate the size of the hotel,it was very small and crowded.It had a slide but was only open twice a day for 20 minutes if that.Do not believe the photos in the brochure,it looks bigger than it actually is . The pool was not clean and was smoggy at the bottom, it only got cleaned once while we where there. Our son had an ear infection while we were there,which we are putting down to the dirtyness of it and many more people had this infection.
The staff around the pool we ok if alittle annoying. Food was very expensive and as was the drinks. Not worth the money spent.
We have never known so many problems in one hotel on the constant room changes, so many people chopping and changing rooms that were not the right rooms that they paid for.
At night constant echoing and loud noises in the lobby, which is very annoying when trying to go to sleep.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.