Image of Flamingo Beach Resort Hotel (formely Marconfort Essence)

Flamingo Beach Resort Hotel (formely Marconfort Essence)

101 of 133 hotels in Benidorm

3 out of 5 from 57 reviews
2 stars
Calle del Esperanto, 32, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
The simply furnished Flamingo Playa is divided between two buildings housing the apartments, bar, reception and restaurant.

57 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    22
  • Average
    15
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Webbo
12 years 5 months ago
Went AOA, not to bad a hotel good base if thats what you want just don't expect too much.

Staff polite if not pleasant entertainment average, but you're in Benidorm and there's entertainment everywhere.

Pool clean sunbeds available cos you pay for them would prefer that to not been able to get one cos all those that put towels on then go out for day.

Rooms not brill but ok guess we got what we paid for saying that we had a great time as we went looking for fun every night
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Jo
12 years 7 months ago
This was the 7th time we have stayed in this hotel and it was certainly the worst stay and will also be the last time. What was a family hotel it now has changed to a hotel for large groups of young people who do not think twice about throwing objects off the balconies or shouting and swearing at 4am. My 2 year old daughter was woken up every night by all the noise.

The cleaning rota was diabolical and the rooms were filthy. In two weeks we only had the beds/towels changed twice. The floors were not swept.

The entertainment was all the same so we went out of the hotel instead.

We all came away very disapointed and I recommend that unless you enjoy being woken up at all hours and you don't mind dodging the falling objects then I would book into a different hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompsons

Mr L Rowley
12 years 7 months ago
Apartments are a joke, we had to buy bleach and disinfectant as soon as we arrived but the smell still remained. Thomson reps don't want to know if you have any problems( after all they have had your hard earned money why should they) they only want to sell you trips at top notch prices.

The noise is horrendous maybe it should be turned into an 18 -30 complex as it definitely not for families, restaurant on site not bad food edible and quite cheap.

Some of the reception staff quite surly.

All in all a very unpleasant experience anyone booked this complex believe pay the difference and have your booking altered this place is a nightmare
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

H
12 years 7 months ago
Staff were a joke. Bar staff were rude and unpolite. First day we used two tip them. They never said thank you and use to grab the money of the plate and walk away. Never tipped again went and drank in the great friendly staffed hotel down the road the Rio park.

If you book take a hard hat with you thinks being thrown off balconies all the time. Staff wasn't interested when reported.

Please keep away if you have young children.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Davey
12 years 7 months ago
I was a bit surprised by some of the comments on here.

Found our room basic but clean....... no cobwebs and no mildew.

Staff were ok, were effeicient, but weren't over friendly.

Heard some noise during the morning......but nothing too bad.

Would I caome there if i have a family....yes no problem.


The entertainment programme was very poor. Buy hey, theres loads in the centre.... try Churchills for the kiddies entertainment.

Maybe we were lucky.... but found it very good. But please remember its a basic 2 star hotel... not the Ritz. you get what you pay for....
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Karen
12 years 9 months ago
The hotel is in quite a good location and not too far from all the action.

The room was only cleaned once in the week we stayed and the beds were only changed once which I was not happy about at all.

I can put up with a lot but like a clean bed. The staff were very nice and very helpful especially when one of our party ended up in hospital.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
K Cooper
12 years 9 months ago
The hotel was great! It was clean and pleasant. The beds were spotless. The rooms are only cleaned every 3 days which was no major problem either.

There was enough space for the 4 of us. The food in the hotel was okay - similar to what you would make at home.

The hotel location is about 10 minutes walk from the beach which after a couple of days does get a bit tedious but the taxis are so cheap - just watch for the guys who have 3e on the clock already when you get into the car. It is close to the old town which was good.
There is a bank just down the road - which was great and the restaurants are all close by.

The hotel staff were fantastic and bent over backwards to help us no matter what time of day or night we needed them. They were always friendly and always had a huge smile ready for us.

The entertainment was nothing great - if anything - it was boring and tame but there is so much more out there to do - even with children. We put it down to the fact that the summer season hadn't really started yet. We would definitely go back!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Jules
13 years 1 month ago
Self catering but didnt want to touch anything in the apartment as it was filthy, so ate out all the time, thank goodness its cheap.

Cleanliness - well as stated above, I have photos - it was awful.

Lifts continuously broke down.

Location we were warned about and it was as expected. However, taxis are so cheap it doesnt matter where you are in Benidorm, just watch out for the home made euro in your change.

Staff - I would say go and get another job as they are obviously not happy, and this is the entertainment industry.

Entertainment was what it was Butlins style but repetetive, at least they tried. ( its Benidorm your surrounded by it anyway.

Would I visit again ? No chance, if my house isnt that dirty then I certainly dont want to pay to stay in it.

I think it fair to say, nothing has changed in 2 years.
Cant see it happening now. Its used as an overflow.

There is a new Flamingo that is lovely, make sure you know which one you are staying in!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson!!

13 years 2 months ago
Well after booking then reading some of the reviews here about the "Flamingo Playa" I thought "oh no!!"
well what can I say, for us it was totally awesome.

Accommodation was ok. Apartment had 2 rooms plus bathroom. Both rooms where small in size but still ok for a family party i.e 2 kids and adults. Rooms were clean but could do with a little upgrade i.e score marks on tables, some chips on cabinets but for a budget holiday I don't think it's nothing to complain about. Balcony was brill really big in size. We had 8 off us sitting out on it one afternoon and the view was ok as well.

As for eating in the hotel, we only eat once and the food was good. Good range of food on menu for kids as well i.e hotdogs, burgers, chips pizza etc etc and the prices were a lot cheaper than I thought. Most of the time we eat at the nearest bar which was called the Titanic. You can get e breakfast there for 2.50 euro which I would recommend. No point in searching all round the resort for anywhere else in my opinion.

The bar in hotel was ok as well. Price for cruzcampo lager (local beer) was only 1.20 euro.

Pool at hotel was cleaned every morning. Went in once with kid but I think it was too cold !!! There is also a indoor pool but we never went in. Looked ok though.

As for things to do in Benidorm there is a lot more than just sitting in pubs drinking the cheap local beer. I would recommend a day to the Mundomar, really worth the money. The market is also good on a Saturday and Wednesday. There is also a good hotel next to the market for the bored men to have a little refreshment as the wives check out the stalls. Nust beware of the pickpockets at the market especially round the 3 potato trick.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Shannon
13 years 3 months ago
We have been home 2 days and wish we wernt, we could of stayed there alot longer, the Hotel was marvelous no complaints what so ever,

We stayed on the 12th floor and the view was amazing, rooms were very clean and tidy, staff were very polite

The pool was great just laid ther sun bathing ordering drinks superb.

We went self catering so eat out everyday, we definately reccomend TITANIC and WOOKEY HOLLOW 2, food and staff were excellent also CHURCHILLS for a night out, very freindly and welcoming staff.

We will be going back next year for definate would advise this hotel to everyone.

Closest shop is at the bottom of hotel, but the nearest is 30 seconds walk, beach is 5-10 mins walk.

A*
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum