Image of Blue Bays Hotel

Blue Bays Hotel

131 of 173 hotels in Marmaris

3 out of 5 from 126 reviews
4 stars
16 Siteler Mahallesi 209 Sokak, 48700 Marmaris / Mugla, Turkey

126 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    23
  • Very Good
    32
  • Good
    28
  • Average
    34
  • Poor
    9

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Carol
Great holiday
10 years 1 month ago
Just got back from a fabulous holiday, we enjoyed staying in the blue bays this is the 2nd time we have been here and it has improved greatly since last time.

The food became a little repetitive because chicken and turkey is the main meat. we had an all-inclusive deal and it was great to be able to have drinks and food paid for already, we did eat out a few nights because we enjoy some of the restaurants outside as well.

We spent most of our days by the pool. We asked the rep could we have an extra bed put in one of the rooms rather than one person sleep under the air conditioning unit in the lounge area, fair play this was sorted immediately.
The kids club was great and available to kids of 4 years and over, we would definitely stay at the Blue Bays again and would like to thank them for a great holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
James
Needed updating and staff could have been friendlier
10 years 1 month ago
Blue Bays delux hotel Maramis, we stayed on an all-inclusive package. Our room was a good size and kept very clean. The shower was good and towels changed daily, the carpets however, were very stained and in need of replacing.

The food was quite good but very repetitive, great if you like salad, olives and cold meats, the bread was excellent. Location, good but noisy, pool area too small for the number of rooms and the sunbeds are poor and in short supply, also only 10 umbrellas for about 250 people.

The staff were friendly in the dining area, but unfriendly and unhelpful in the bars, we felt we would rather have paid and been treated with more respect. Entertainment very poor.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Mandy
A fantastic holiday
10 years 2 months ago
Stayed at this hotel for 21 nights and had a brilliant holiday. Hotel clean, staff friendly, location is good and nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff.

Food a bit repetitive, but there is always something for everyone. We stayed on an All-inclusive basis and we will definitely return to this hotel.

Cobra and his bar staff were excellent, could have a good laugh with them.
Bobo, Nico and MC, the entertainment staff were good lads, again could have a good laugh with them.

Thanks to all at the Blue Bays for a fantastic holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Dale
10 years 2 months ago
We stayed at this hotel for 7 days and have had a lovely expierience. They supplied us with everything that we needed such as the air conditioning (used it everyday) full meals. The best thing is the location-bars, shops all around us and to have a nice stroll.

The outings are really good, such as boat rides, jeep safare-speeds the day and it good fun. There is a office for outings outside the hotel you can book. Takes a bit of spending money but it is really worth it

But there are a few cons, unfortuanalty. The food is a bit repetitive, breakfast I think is the worst- cereal is either soggy or rock hard (I have cereal at home) but the pancakes were nice-just fatning and they never served lemon which was annoying because I love my pancakes with a little sugar and lemon.

The entertainment was slightly poor, in the evenings they would do a karoeke but not many people are into that. And everything else such as playing on Playstations, using the internet costs 10Turkish money or more.

But to make up for the fun the stroll around the shops and bars is nice.
They also stay open until midnight which is really good!

But overal the holiday was good, and I would go again even if the food annoys me a little- pity we have to make our own entertainment. Defentantly reccommend it!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Monarch

Recommended
David Kinrade
10 years 2 months ago
We stayed at the Blue Bays from 19-26 July 2010. Never again!
On arrival at 5am on 20th the room wasn't ready and we were all ushered into the restaurant where the particularly rude staff made it clear we were unwelcome as it was 'too early'. We were finally allocated a family room at 6am, which to our disgust was absolutely filthy! The room smelt of cigarette smoke, with a dog end on the balcony, there were toe nail clippings on the floor, which walking on made your feet black. The walls were covered in stains and dirty marks, there was exposed wiring in an open fusebox, no towels or toilet roll and beds that were unfit for sleeping on due to what felt like pieces of wood through the mattresses. The balcony had overflow pipes from the aircon dripping into plastic bottles that frequently overflowed and left a pool of water that i slipped on and banged my head on the external fan! Reception were told twice and no cleaner materialised. The Thomas Cook rep came to our room and looked less than impressed with our complaints. Totally unhelpful. A cleaner eventually brought towels and toilet roll and ran a mop over the room but it was still filthy. We gave up.
The food is crap. Not suitable for a family, even the chips tasted like they had been cooked, cooked again and cooked again for good measure. It's all salads and melon. No real selection for main course unless you like cold sprouts and liver! Three of us had bad stomachs from the food and my wife broke her tooth on a nutshell in a piece of sponge cake!
The pool was ok but getting a sunbed was impossible due to them being reserved as early as 5am contrary to hotel policy.
The all inclusive drinks are laughable. Sift drinks are served in polystyrene cups only two thirds full and the beer is heavily watered down. Only two drinks can be obtained at any one time, great for a family of four!
On our last day i suffered a head wound from slipping on water on the balcony, something reception had been told about a week earlier.
This hotel is alledgedly a 4* but I'd give it a 1* at best. I'll never stay there again.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Susie
Not a 4* hotel at all!
10 years 3 months ago
We stayed in the Bluebays hotel, never again, the room was never cleaned, once in the 2 weeks we stayed there, the cleaner never cleaned anything, every day I had to go to reception for towels. I complained many a time about this but nothing was ever done.

They rate this hotel as 4 star well believe me it’s not I would not even give it 1 star, especially the room we stayed in, people have said their rooms were spotless clean well our one wasn’t.

The pool bar that stank it was a sour smell but I never seen any of the staff once with a cloth, people would come in from the pool soaking wet and walk through reception leaving a trail of water, I did here the staff tell a couple of people about this but it did not make any difference, also the cats that walked about the hotel was a disgrace, as I said before believe me this is not a 4 star hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Mrs L Harlow
10 years 3 months ago
Hotel accomodation and food definately not up to 4 star rating. Meals repeated every day OK if you like chicken but not much variety.Cleanliness OK but room smaller than expected. Towels almost threadbare and bathroom needed maintanance on appliances which were coming away from the wall.
Staff not very customer focused and spoke little English not very welcoming.
The entertainment was non existant accept for Bingo and poolside games.
The location was reasonable as not far from the sea but a severe shortage of sunbeds on the beach and around the pool area led to the 6am towel brigade reserving theirs and the Hotel staff quite happy for this behavior to continue.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holiday

Rachel Martin
10 years 4 months ago
After reading some reviews on trip advisor we were reluctant to stay in this hotel, however we got a really good deal on price so we figured you get what you pay for. Do not listen to the bad reviews, they are all lies. This is possibly one of the nicest hotels i have stayed in, what helped the most was the friendly staff who worked in the hotel. I really want to go back in June but it is fully booked :-(

First of all i will start with the food as this is always important, you have breakfast which has lots of choice, omlettes, fried egg, boiled egg, sausage, beans, taost, cereals, fruits, cheese and continental style, pastries, salads...everything you could want from a breakfast to be fair. Lunch is served also in the restaurant and again there is enough choice for every one both adults and kids chicken, beef, salads, chips, sandwiches, bread, cheese etc. Also there is food at the pool bar pizza, chips, chicken nuggets and burgers probably better for the kids and reaaly really nice too. Then Dinner is also brilliant, at least 6 different meal options available not including salad and soup and various deserts. The food was really good and i do not understand what people were complaining about. Sometimes needs a little salt and pepper but thats the only thing negative i can say about the food. The waiter staff were lovely and they were very accomodating, very friendly and enjoyed a chat on a morning when they were quieter. It was a pleasure to eat here each day.

The rooms were very spacious we had four girls in one room so as you can imagine we were worried about how we would all fit in with our clothes and make up but we were plesently suprised. We had two single beds in one room, and two fold out beds in another room, along with a table 2 wardrobes, kithen cabinets and sink and the bathroom and two balconies. So space was never an issue. The rooms were cleaned everyday and again the maid was very friendly and when we needed extra towels etc we were able to get them with ease. One comment i would make is we didn't have a bin!

The pool was a fair size for the number of guests who were staying at the hotel, plenty of sunbeds, no need to get up at the crack of dawn although we are fairly early risers so wasn't an issue for us. Pool bar staff during the day were lovely as they were on an evening too, they were very strict on two drinks per person, could see how this could be annoying if you have children and you have to make two trips to the bar but there were never big queues for this.

Now the entertainment, well this has to be the best part!! The entertainment team were brilliant and not just for kids for adults too, BoBo, Niko and Katie made our holiday! They were so friendly and funny and really seemed to to take the time to sit and chat with all guests. I'm still laughing at some of the things that they did. Not only did they provide night time entertainment they were around all day doing stuff which was enjoyable and there was never any pressure to take part if you just wanted to laze about. 10/10 for entertainment in this hotel!!!

Honestly this hotel is really really good and i would highly recommend it to anyone. I could keep writing and writing. But do ignore the bad reports as they are probably dated and no longer count for anything. Go along and make up your own minds!.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Joe Sepp
10 years 4 months ago
bed sheets dirty. towels not changed dirty glasses.
all inclusuive food very poor. drinks watered down.
hotel not 4/5 star .not worth my hard earned money.makes the carry on abroad hotel look fantastic.
but not so funney
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: a1

Carol
So good we are going back in 10 weeks!
10 years 5 months ago
We stayed at the Blue Bays 26th may myself mum son friend and his 12 year old daughter .myself mum and son stayed the year before and meet 2 other families. We had a great holiday so we all went last year. After coming back last year we booked for 2011 may again this time my sister and family are coming with us.

The entertainment is good, food is good, hotel is 5 mins from the beach; don’t take a lot of clothes as you can get them a lot cheaper there they wash well. My sons t shirts last from one year to the next. This year it is the 3rd time we have stayed at the blue bays. The cleaner we had was the same some as the other year she looked after us very well. The manager remembered us from the year before everything was just so good can’t wait only 10 weeks till I am there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.