Image of Gokcen Hotel

Gokcen Hotel

155 of 173 hotels in Marmaris

3 out of 5 from 29 reviews
3 stars
Graced by the convenience of attentive, personal service, the hotel Gokcen will ensure your comfort throughout your vacation with us.

29 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    9

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
14 years 1 month ago
We booked 2 weeks at this hotel, when we arrived it was closed. We are currently taking further action. Do not book to go here as it will be CLOSED
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: UKtravelshop/ hotels4u.com

Sarah
14 years 10 months ago
This hotel was just fantastic! clean, cheap and full of character! the rooms are basic yet have everything you need with spacious and sunny balconies. the pool was always clean and in the sun all day and acted as a great way to cool down from the turkish sun.

the employees of this hotel made our stay and made us feel very welcome and appreciated.

the hotel is just off the main road with means its close to all the action yet quiet in the evenings.

we all had an amazing time and are looking forward to returning next year!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtravel

Recommended
Hector Simmonds
14 years 10 months ago
You need to gauge the calibre of person writing a review on a hotel, I consider my self to be middle of the road and well travelled. I have stayed in many hotels both for business and pleasure.
The Gokcen hotel is the worst hotel I have every stayed in, the standard of cleanliness is non existent. The rooms are filthy due to never being cleaned. In the ten nights we stayed there the beds were never changed, we had to ask for clean linen, towels and toilet rolls. It would seem that the hotel is run for the staff and not for the guests as all they seemed to do was watch TV read papers, and play on the computer.
Of all of the staff only one seemed to be friendly and wished to help with any complaint.
All the negative comments made by others are TRUE; they do not allow you water in your rooms etc.
On the positive side the pool is large and was clean although there were no sun umbrellas to shade you from the intense heat, the breakfast was almost adequate. The hotel is in a fairly good location and quiet at night, the room had a nice balcony although the table and chairs were broken.
I know this is a damming review, but I would not stop at the Gokcen hotel again if it were FREE. Spend a bit extra and get yourself a clean hotel as there are many in Marmaris that have a high standard of cleanliness and friendly customer service.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: uktravelshop.co,uk

Gokcen Hotel Marmaris
14 years 10 months ago
My mam and dad and my oldest daughter and my uncle all travelled 2 turkey 4 2 weeks stayed at the gokcen hotel. myself my partner and my 15month old daughter flew out and stayed at the gokcen 4 the 2nd week of there holiday. when we arrived the staff were very friendly. They showed us to are room.the room was very basic with a single bed and a double bed. we were very dipointed with the hotel my parents room had about 2 inches of dust on there tv in bedroom which was still there the day we left they never changed bedding are towles we had to help ourselfes to everything includin toilet rolls. pool was clean the pool was only seemed 2 have bottles of there local beer. there spirit bottles were empty. I would never visit the gokcen nor turkey again even if some one payed me to.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: holidays 4 u

John And Lillian
14 years 10 months ago
Arrived at hotel and from the outside it looked presentable enough and the pool area was good. However the room was a different matter. On entering you noticed that it hadn't been cleaned in quite a while. The bathroom was dirty and smelly. Bed linen was only changed after requesting fresh towels. One or two of the staff were approachable but the others were not interested. We were told that we could only bring water to the pool if we bought it from the hotel bar. The price of this water was three times the price of that at the local supermarket. No entertainment was arranged other than a Turkish night which we did not attend but heard it was a bit of a disaster. Some of the local traders even asked how we ended up staying there. Food was very basic. The standard of cleanliness didn't even extend to reception were you could see dust under chairs and tables and stains on the floor in areas were food was eaten. When we were packing to go home we had to be careful not to leave the room cleaner than we found it. Have read various reviews and have agreed with most of them but the ones who gave this hotel a favourable review must have been high on drugs or something because they really weren't at the saame place we were. No we won't be back to this hotel!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Fleetway Travel

Amanda Donaghy
14 years 10 months ago
I have been in Turkey 8 times now and this is by far the worse hotel I have stayed in. The bannister was actually falling off of the stairs whilst walking up it. The corridors were so dark as the lights did not come on until the evening (no windows either). I arrived early saturday morning and my bathroom was filthy, I asked the owner and 2 of the workers for it to be cleaned. Finally the cleaner did it on Wednesday. Also, after cleaning my room she left my room door wide open all day - I was at the beach and did not get back to the room until 6pm that evening. The breakfast was disgusting too. Cutlery filthy, dishes filthy, tables filthy.

The owner walked about with a dirty vest on the whole week and quite frankly couldn't have cared less about anything.

In fact, me and my friends got lost one day and asked the workers in a bar directions - their answer "no, no, the Inspector of tourism closed that hotel down a long time ago"!! I rest my case.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: 2 female friends

Margaret & Mark
14 years 10 months ago
Gokcen Hotel, Marmaris. We are very regular vistors to Turkey and have travelled the country extensively, visiting Marmaris on numerous occaions. Unfortunately the hotel we normally stay in was fully booked so decided to book into Gokcen as it was the same price. Never ever again would I stay there nor recommend it. It was filthy. We have stayed in very cheap hostels all over the world and I can say this is the dirtest and most unfriendly place. I should have done what my instincts told me and left immediatly but didn't. I can confirm what other reports say. Dirty rooms, filthy bathrooms, towels that I would not have washed the floor with, cockery and utensils that were too dirty to use. After three nights we decided we could no longer stay and decided to move to another hotel. The owner was away at the time and when my husband went to settled our bill with the owners brother he became very agressive towards him. We decided to walk to our new hotel as it was close by and upon leaving we were followed. This I found extremelly frightening and totally unacceptable. While we were checking into the new hotel the owners brother from the Gokcen appeared and although the conversation was in Turkish between himself and the manager of the new hotel it was very obviously agressive. I have never been so relieved to leave a hotel and have always found Turkish people to be very friendly and helpful expect in this instance.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Independant

Kirsty
14 years 10 months ago
The Gocken hotel was one in a million the staff were amazing always eager to help and extremely entertaining they really made our holiday. Our rooms were basic but very clean with large balconys, beds and towels were cleaned daily. The food was nice when we made it and the pool area was great with the shaded area you had a choice wether to bake or not which was a god send at times! All in all the Gocken was amazing and I can't wait to return again!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FCD perth

Recommended
Lise
14 years 11 months ago
hotel smelled as soon as we walked in. after 4 days we had to ask for fresh towels bad eh? only two members of staff spoke english. never return again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

The Crazy 2
14 years 11 months ago
The hotel was very clean at all times so i can't understand why people say otherwise.

The staff are so very helpful & we felt at home, it was like a fantastic family atmosphere.

With reference to lise comment'there are more than two members of staff speaking english' & they are all very helpful, kind & friendly even when they have to deal with drunks & loud music until early hours.

I would definately reccomend this hotel for everyone, & mainly family people.

We will be going again with friends & family & the hotel is a 5 minute walk fromt the beach & has a restaurant next door, the hotel also makes great food.

The best part of the holiday was the hotel & the staff members.

They had turkish nights at the hotel, breakdancers & lots of other fab entertainment.

gOlle gOlle :)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: hotels4u

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.