Image of Grand Ideal Hotel

Grand Ideal Hotel

79 of 173 hotels in Marmaris

4 out of 5 from 26 reviews
The Grand Ideal is superbly located close to the beach and is within easy reach of the resort centre. The staff are very friendly and help to create the lively atmosphere employed by fun-loving families of all ages.

26 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Rebecca Mccracken
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel
10 years 7 months ago
Visited this hotel in April although just out of season - hotel was quite busy.

First of all, on arriving at hotel in the very early hours the staff were very welcoming. There was a hotel rep who was English and she made sure everyone checked in ok.

The room was very good and quite spacious. We had a lovely pool view and couldn't fault. The bathroom very clean and modern. The rooms were cleaned and towels changed every day even supplied with separate towels for the swimming pool.

The pool area was quite large but as always people reserving sunbeds at 6 in the morning, we usually sat at one of the tables. The pool was very cold (still early season) but there was a small indoor pool. Also had a Spa centre which was excellent. Had a full package Turkish bath, sauna and massage excellent value.

The food was also very good, plenty of choice although dining room very busy and quite frustrating when certain people can't make up their mind what they want. Also a separate coffee bar which was open all night.

The only complaint about this hotel was lack of entertainment - wasn't very well organised still it didn't bother us too much.

Hotel in great location, just away from main centre of Marmaris which was nice.

All in all, would thoroughly recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Maria
Fantastic
10 years 7 months ago
Just arrived back from the Grand Ideal and feel it is important to evaluate it, as I always read Holiday Truths prior to booking a holiday.

The room was on the fifth floor which commanded good views over the sea and mountains. There was a table and four chairs and several chairs and a small fridge which upon arrival was stocked with water and juice a nice touch. The bed was comfy. The bathroom had a shower with a seat, now I am fairly fit but found it very difficult to get into and actually quite dangerous. There was a safety deposit box in the room and this is free of charge if you are all inclusive.

There was a large window in the room which only had a net-type curtain so as soon as day-broke it woke you up. These are all minor things and I would still stay here.

Food could not be faulted in any way although the dining room was noisy so we used to go at the end of service when it was quieter. Drinks, the usual spirits that are the equivalent of our supermarket value range, great for removing nail polish if you get my drift. There were no small bottles of water as in other places it was given from a big bottle and never cold neither was the wine so I just had ice in my drinks. People were filling water bottles from the water machines this concerned me greatly on health and safety grounds I think this is a faux pas on the Hotel's part allowing this.

I also asked for Rose one night they do not do it but proceeded to give me half white half red, nice try!

Pool area was good but as in all hotels people reserved sunbeds early in the morning this was usually the only time the cushions to make the beds comfy were available as there were not enough to go around.

Entertainment if you want great entertainment go to the West End at the Grand Ideal there is a hard-working team headed by Roberto we enjoyed their efforts and believe me it is worth doing the Water Gym, very funny.

I will make a comment about the Black Out Night Club you can hear its boom..boom, in the end we thought if you can't beat them join them and the hand full of people that were in there did not make up for the people who were unhappy at the noise I would advise the Hotel to review and consider not opening it people who want a clubbing holiday tend not to go to Marmaris.

The cleanliness everywhere in the hotel is fantastic.
In summary if you have booked this hotel you will be very happy with what you find if you haven't booked I would recommend that you do.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Caroline Ford
Clean but awful
11 years 1 month ago
The hotel was very clean rooms varied in size. The food was only 1 star the drinks were disgusting wine and beer all tasted the same. The cakes at the restaurant at lunch time were covered in chocolate looked delicious but when you went to eat them they were stale. All food when we stayed there was recycled.

Have been with Thomas cook and always stay in 4 or 5 star hotels this was not. Our bedroom was not big enough for two no coat hangers or space to hang clothes. Our first bedroom was big but very noisy and looked at brick walls. Would never go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Chris Constantine
11 years 11 months ago
This was our first time in Marmaris and we really enjoyed it. The hotel and facilities were brilliant. Staff very friendly and could not do enough for you. The food was good and waiters were very helpful.Rooms were clean and towels changed every day. Pool area was lovely and plenty of sun beds. There were plenty of facilities on the complex, mini market,indoor pool and spa,Jewellers,and hairdressers. The hotel was the Grand Ideal Hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
12 years ago
We visited last October and what a very pleasant surprise. We certainly didn't expect the well equiped & spacious rooms. The food was excellent , the AI was spot on ( apart from there being no rum for me ) , service great but the entertainment was certainly more suitable to the non-Brits. Of course it was the end of season and most people there were adults but it was relatively poor , personnally speaking. Apart from that, highly recommended great food , great hotel , great staff . Go , if you get the chance
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Liz
12 years 2 months ago
This is the first review we've ever done and decided to do it as we'd read reviews before going and did not agree with the worst ones. Arrived at reception at 7am after 2hour transfer and they tried to fit us into smaller rooms - we'd paid for double rooms + single bed, but they did say that more rooms would be available after 12.30 pm and true to their word we got a double room also with single bed and the other 1 hour later. We were impressed with the shower cubicles (no water about bathroom floor)and the air con was good. The main areas are very grand, really nice hotel. The upstairs restaurant where lunch is can be very humid, could do with air con there and the lifts are small and hot, better to walk, not many stairs between floors. Pool area was busy when we were there, had to put towels down at 7.15 am but people who'd been there the previous week too did say that you could still get a bed at 10am that week, so we were just unlucky to have picked a busy week. We went to the beach twice when pool area was a bit too noisy and if you buy water the beds are free. Beach is shingle but you don't have far to walk to the sea. To get to the beach you just turn left outside the hotel and walk straight down. Food can be very turkish but there were always soups, melon, pasta, chicken, rice and the deserts were impressive, vast array of gateau, profiteroles, creme caramel, grapes and more so we always found something. The snack bar is a bit repetitive. Breakfast was fine as there's always scrambed egg, boiled eggs,toast,jams,honey,cereal, waffles, french sticks and fruits - but if you like full english you need to go outside. We did eat at Sisters on the beach and at the chinese though as we like to sample other places and they were good. The bar service can be slow in the evening, but the waiters can take orders from tables and you get your drinks faster that way. Entertainment was on every night, but apart from turkish dancers and a singer doing Michael Jackson, it was staff entertainment which was enough if you have a drink, a seat and are having chill out time. It can be difficult to get a table outside if you leave it too late though. All in all we eally enjoyed this holiday and have been all inclusive quite a few times before, if you are a fussy eater it may not be for you but it was fine for us.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Alex
12 years 3 months ago
the usual going anywhere, you read the reviews and have doubts after you have booked it. well all the reviews that were negative about this hotel, were completley untrue, we had a great holiday, the hotel was spotless, the maid was in everyday, changing towels daily. the food was great bearing in mind we are in a foreign country and they are just not catering for us. its not spain therefore dont expect the same entertainment and you wont be dissapointed, 5 mins down the promenade and there is miles of bars and clubs. my wife did not wont to go to turkey, but i am now being told to book for next year. need i say anymore great time, great holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Helen
12 years 5 months ago
me and my boyfriend stayed at the grand ideal hotel may 2009, it was a great hotel and we had a fantastic holiday, hotel is really clean our rooms were basic but was very nice. we stayed all inclusive and the food was lovely, sumfin different every night, waiters and bar staff were very friendly and will do anything for you. Hotel is just a 2 min walk away frm the beach which was gd. Would defintely recomend this hotel for your stay in Marmaris, good 4 couples, but not so good if you have children as there is not a lot for them to do.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
13 years 2 months ago
The Grand ideal has recently been extended and improved. We had 3 rooms booked and they did vary in size and standard but only slightly and were all more than suitable, all had air con. which was def needed as it was very hot!!!!
Very clean. Rooms cleaned and towels/bedding changed every day. Main hotel was exceptionally clean and tidy at all times.
There was lots of food available to suit all nationalities - it is Turkey so don't expect fish n chips!!!!
Hotel is just off the main road and the beach front so only takes minutes to walk anywhere, or there is a very good dolmus service that stops anywhere on request.
As usual staff in Tukey are always willing to help and are friendly and happy.
There is not entertainment every night but it is easy to walk out to find bars with plenty of entertainment, we were quite happy to just relax at the bar though and didn't mind it being quiet some nights.
Overall we had a great holiday and would recommend AI as the amount you need to drink due to the heat would cost a fortune during the day.We found it a very cheap holiday and only spent about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Rachel
14 years 1 month ago
this hotel was great will be returning. waiter were great especial jonny and andy (tom cruise look a like)
breakfast was great loads of varity. food in the pool bar was really good and taste of proper english food would definatly recormend the spaggetie bolonaise and fish fingers and chips. cocktail were very taste and only cost 3 pound (english money) room was clean and tidy maids were great. television was avaliable so i never missed my soaps
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.