Image of Melodi Hotel

Melodi Hotel

108 of 172 hotels in Marmaris

4 out of 5 from 18 reviews
2 stars

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ready for demolition
2 years 4 months ago
First and foremost I would say that all images of Melodi Hotel Marmaris, on the Solfaktor.no webpage or other webpages I have seen are false. The pictures are probably taken many years ago or when it was new. Since then, there has not been any any kind of maintenance on the building. When my partner and I arrived at the hotel the 26/07/2016, at approx. 0600, it became very clear to us.

The receptionist who greeted us was dressed in tattered shorts and T-shirt and had poor personal hygiene. His English skills were on par with a "Norwegian fourth-grader". Moreover, he demanded that we delivered our passports so that the manager could register us on the hotel's computer system, when he got in later. Because he didn't have the skills to do it himself. The passports were laid unprotected behind the reception desk, where they were until I even went down around at 11:00 and picked them ourself. Still no manager. Anyone could have gone straight into the reception area, leaned over the counter helped themselves with our passports. All other hotels are such done immediately. Talk about terrible routines.

The room we were allocated was of a very poor standard. The balcony's sliding door locking mechanism was rusted to pieces so the room was unsecured and could fine have been entered via the neighbor's balcony. The carpeting was tough and unappetizing. The bathroom was equipped with defective soap dispenser that lacked soap. Only a dried blot left and some black dots that resembled bacteria. The lid was gone. The toilet cistern was leaking and created a troublesome trickle sound. Air conditioner was marked by years of use without maintenance. After an hour of procrastination by the receptionist, he bothered to eventually come up to the room and help us turning on the A/C, after we had tried starting it ourselves. It appeared that the fan had to be pushed manually to start, like in some old gangster movie. It reeked of old tobacco smell and we were disgusted by the smell when the A/C were turned on. Has probably never been cleaned.

I was told to meet downstairs in the reception 0900 because according to the receptionist I had an appointment with a representative of my travel company(Solfaktor.no). It turned out eventually to be a trickster who used Solfaktor to try to sell me a few excursions. Surely a buddy of receptionist. Typical Turkish tactic.

Sleepy and tired after being awake for more than one day, I and my roommate decided enough is enough. We found another hotel after all Solfaktor only could offer us was another room in the same crappy hotel. Can you believe the cheeky brat of a night receptionist accused us of being troublemakers when Solfaktor called them up about our complaint.

My advise stay away.
Marcia Amison
Great for couples
5 years 4 months ago
Melodi is basic but very clean and friendly, nothing is too much trouble for basar and his family, food is excellent. Hotel is very central 2mins to beach front. You leave here feeling like part of the family. I have been here twice before and have booked for 2014. The staff are friendly and funny and go out of their way to entertain you. This hotel is suitable for all people, groups, singles and families. Some nights there is entertainment on, Turkish nights and bingo but most of the time the staff keep you amused!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel republic

Hotel tip: All rooms have a seaview but the higher up you are the better the view.

Recommended
9 years 4 months ago
We arrived at 4am and were greeted by the night receptionist and a barman, and they were both very friendly and welcoming. We booked in and were in our rooms inside 10 minutes. The only catch was that we had to pay an extra
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: on the beach

Recommended
Nicola
10 years 7 months ago
It was great, the hotel has been taken over by a lovely family, the food here was lovely had a variety of diffrent food to choose from. the hotel staff where great and all spoke very good english. Our room was ideal, sea view from our balcony was very nice. very close to the beach bars resturants 2min walk. Very clean had our sheets and towels changed every day. I'm definately going back it was well worth the money we paid to stay there. very very cheap.
Although there was not any entertainment in the hotel you only had to walk 2mins to the clubs anyway.
brillent !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Ian&kath
12 years 3 months ago
We were very disappointed but only used the hotel for sleeping the lift did not work the stairs weren
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Debbie
12 years 5 months ago
Food was poor and prepared in dirty conditions outside.

Room was on a slant, curtains could not close, toilet seat was broken and dirty, shower was hand held. Hotel lift was broken and I was given no assistance with my luggage. Fell down stairs which had no lights on because faulty bulbs had not been replaced. Staff let on that they could not understand me and gave no assistance when I fell down the stairs and hurt my ankle. Other than that, I enjoyed the rest of my holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Lauren And Joanna
12 years 5 months ago
I have to say this is the worst hotel I ever stayed in, and wouldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Gold trail

Sarah
12 years 5 months ago
Although we booked on a bed & breakfast rate, we never had breakfast there as it was so poor.
The main problem we had was with the lack of water to shower and the cleanliness of the hotel. For about 4 nights in our first week, we had to wait for water to have a shower which is unacceptable.

When we complained both to the rep and to Reception, they said it was a problem in the resort but we asked many others and their hotels were fine. We finally got hols of our rep's manager who came down and listened to us all, made a note of the complaints and took them to the General Manager.

After this, the water was fine for the second week but the poor cleanliness remained the same. Unfortunately, half of our party were only there for a week so it really spoilt their holiday!

The hotel staff were ok with us, but the problem is that nobody seems to take responsibility when things go wrong. If you have difficulty with stairs, do not stay here as the lift has been broken for some time - with no sign of getting it fixed!

The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location as it is within walking distance of everything and even has a great waterpark on the doorstep.

I would not stay here again and would not recommend anyone else to until some money is spent improving basic living conditions.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail Holidays

Nicky
12 years 6 months ago
This hotel is the worst I've ever stayed in. The air conditioning did not work properly and the lift was broken.

The bathroom flooded each time you used the shower. My partner slipped and his hand went through the window causing him to slit his wrist open.

The prices in the hotel changed every day 1st day we payed 12 lira for a cocktail the next day they were only 6 lira.

I unfortunately caught food poising from the hotel. The food is prepared outside in dirty conditions and the kitchen is disgusting.

I definitely would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It is below 2*.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail Holidays

Niall
13 years 4 months ago
This hotel was good but not brilliant I enjoyed my holiday here and the staff were good to me.

The pool was a bit small but kids loved it.

The lift was broken nearly every day.

The location was really good it was close to the beach.

The entertainment was not that good I expected better.

The food was not special but my holiday was good over all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum