Image of Gunes Hotel

Gunes Hotel

116 of 173 hotels in Marmaris

3 out of 5 from 12 reviews
2 stars
A family run hotel where the welcome is always warm and genuine. Set back in a quieter part of Marmaris away from the main road. Thursday's are a highlight of the week as the 'Thursday Market' is only two minutes walk away.

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Pink
10 years 1 month ago
im going to disagree with the past comments ive read , this is a family run hotel.ive been going there for years , always kept clean and the staff are the lovely kind people and most trusting people ive ever known
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Recommended
11 years ago
Went from 5th to 12th October on a B&b basis, Never ever got breakfast challenged owner over this and he said his chef was in hospital so he couldnt get another at such short notice as it was to late in the season to employ one, Only 7 rooms occupied at the hotel, Never ever seen the maid to clean appartment, No change of linen or towels, Bar closed 2 days before we were due to return home, Swimming pool was filthy with litter and mouldy food in it the whole time we were their, Owner mustaffa always sleeping flat out on sofa inside reception, Avoid this hotel like the plague as their are 1000s of other hotels all over so please dont choose this one.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Bob & Jenny
12 years 2 months ago
This hotel has now changed names to Marmaris Gunesin.
Hotel is situated a stones throw from Marmaris market which is on a Thursday.
Plenty of staff in this Hotel, Rooms are very very small, Certainly the smallest I have seen in the 14 times I have been to Turkey.
We went here on an Our choice Room only late deal costing
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Recommended
Ronnie
13 years ago
Went to hotel in October. Rooms small but clean cleaned every couple of days though hot water was hard to come by, very small balcony .

Originally went bed and breakfast but choose to go self catering as breakfast was Turkish and not to our taste we ate at a place nearby called Summer Rain. Good food and great staff 5 lira about
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Helena Maraldo
13 years 1 month ago
Never book with goldtrail and as for the gunes hotel it makes faulty towers look like the ritz! It was disgusting and filthy dirty. If you want filthy bedding, money, clothes and cameras stolen from your room by the cleaning staff then enjoy. The fire escape exit was padlocked and the goldtrail rep was a complete and utter waste of space. If you want the hotel from hell than book with them and I wish you all the best!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Recommended
Smiths
13 years 2 months ago
No welcome on arrival some staff sleeping on sofas in reception.
Rooms were very very small shower flooded bathroom every time it was used.

There was no security at all had to go behind counter a few times to get our room keys because of staff sleeping.

No entertainment at all apart from music played on cd
balcony tiny and very low.

Really stinks of cats wee.

Pool hatch left open at all times at 20ft drop easy enough for kids to fall down.

Pool was so small kids pool wouldn't even call it a pool
my child nearly came over the balcony and went down hatch would never go back had to pay extra to be move to a different hotel goldtrail rep was no help at all!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Toni
13 years 3 months ago
This hotel was the best hotel I have been to but I would say that the hotel in set at age 18-30. The staff were very friendly to you and do anything to help you. The hotel was very clean all the time we was there, rooms were cleaned every day.

The pool on the hotel is not that big but you can still swim in there and it is very clean.The hotel food was good value for your money and was very tasty.

The location of the hotel was good because it was only 10 minutes walk away from the beach and the shops. The hotel in right next to the thursday market so it can be a bit noisey on the wednesday night.

The entertainment was very good if you go to this hotel u must go to turkish night it was only 22lyt and you get a three couse meal and entertainment like, bellydancer, breakdancers and a staff show also the staff get you up dancing with them.

I hope to return to this hotel in Oct this year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Recommended
Kim
13 years 3 months ago
I went on holiday with Toni and to be fair the hotel was brilliant.

We never had any complaints, the staff are wonderful they would do anything for you and we had such a laugh.

The rooms where small but not really a big problem, they was always very clean.

The pool was lovely it was clean and cool.

The location was top as well as it was walking distance from the beach, shops and the bars.

I will definitely be returning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Recommended
JOHN
13 years 4 months ago
This is a small hotel of about 55 rooms. Originally we booked for a party of 3 and we would have had to share a room which comprised of a single and double bed, that would have been very unpleasant , as it turned out another mate of ours joined the party later so we got an extra room.

Got no real complaints apart from that but the rooms are very small but kept very clean as was the rest of the hotel.

If you go pay for drinks and food as you get them DONT put them on your room tab as we payed for a few extra things I,m sure we didnt get.

Found the prices in the hotel pretty much the same as most places in the resort but you have to look around.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: GOLDTRAIL

Recommended
13 years 5 months ago
Found hotel to be in nice location but very small rooms..Breakfast was Turkish ( boiled egg, cheese, etc ).. Rooms were kept very clean, though they were that small it can't have been that difficult.!!

Never tried the hotel food as we were eating out all the time but the prices compared to other restaraunts seemed awfully high..

The pool was a nice size and the bar area was very nice to look at but not an awful lot of people hung around there for a drink..The music played around the bar area was truly "BLOODY AWFUL"..!! It was that awful rap music turned up pretty well full on the speakers..I think the staff round the bar were playing it for themselves and not the customers..

Lots of people staying at the hotel went somewhere else just to get away from it.. The price of a beer was 4YTL and I reckon that was the dearest pint in town..Down the beachfront some places were knocking it out for 2.5YTL and you had much better music and a nicer location to do your boozin'..

The rest of the drinks prices were in proportion and I reckon the prices were a rip off..They even tried to screw me for drinks I hadn't had as i was sat at the bar waiting for the coach pick up to take me to the airport.. I wasn't the only one either.!!! This might be a great place for 18-30 but i certainly wouldn't take a family..

Friday night is the big entertainment night.. the whole place is shaking..and I mean shaking.!!! The noise is absolutely earth shattering and goes on all night...There is a mosque close to the hotel but it didn't bother me at all..just heard it occasionally...

I certainly wouldn't go back to this hotel in a million years.!! Two couples we met shelled out to stop at other locations after only one night and one couple were on a fortnights holiday!!!It must have cost them an extra few bob..

Overall my impression was that the hotel could be a little goldmine if it was run better,but thats for the owner to deal with..
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.