Image of Maritim Grand Azur Hotel

Maritim Grand Azur Hotel

41 of 173 hotels in Marmaris

4 out of 5 from 13 reviews
5 stars

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
P Mason
Currently staying here
8 years 3 months ago
Lovely hotel, food OK, great location, good service (though could do with a friendly manager to greet you at the restaurant each day), top floor being renovated BUT if you want somewhere peaceful then I would not recommend this hotel. Unfortunately, the animation team leader loves the sound of his own voice and combined with a microphone, is one of the noisiest things I've heard in ages. On many days the thumping music starts at 10am (last week it was all day until about 4 ish, break for about an hour, then restarts). The music penetrates all through the sea view rooms (street view rooms don't hear it I believe). After dinner, we hear the chaos which is music from the band playing at the hotel's beach bar mixed WITH different music from the kiddie disco, then the outdoor entertainment which starts at 10pm till midnight ish. Nice hotel, very clean but the noise from the pool party atmosphere and man on the microphone (narrating aqua gym + water polo at the top of his voice) has totally spoiled it for me! (PS. I'm a music loving mum in my mid 40s with a young daughter)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
12 years 4 months ago
we arrived at the grand azur after travelling around marmaris looking for our rep. the room we where given was clean and had a sea view if you looked between the very large trees. the dinner we had that night was great plenty of choice. next morning we where woken by a great deal of noise. we had workmen renovating the hotel rooms to the left of our room, above our room in fact it was a building site. we where moved to another room on the 3rd floor (quieter ?). only to be woken yet again. we had the workman scraping walls out side of our room and on top of that when i went into the corridor with my 3 year old i found broken glass from the demolished balcony doors just leaning against the wall by the lift area.we had not been told that this work was going on when we booked this holiday nor before we left the u.k. we moved from this hotel as we considered it a dangerous place for a 3 year to be. we are very dissapointed as this is supposed to be the best in marmaris maybe it will be when all of the work is finished.when it is finished we may consider staying there again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
13 years 11 months ago
We booked a week here independently (flights; XL and Findmeaccom.com for hotel, transfers; Transfer Only.com) from Oct 16th -23rd. Having previously stayed at two excellent Iberostars ;Creta Panorama on Crete and Panorama Kipriotis on Kos ,in previous years, expectations were running high.

On the positive; the hotel areas and pools are clean. Sheets are clean and beds are comfortable. Mini bar and room service we thought were very reasonable.The view from our 4th floor room (No. 445) was the best view we'd ever had in a hotel ! Staff were pleasant enough (but we did not find the receptionists overly helpful). The hotel shops were reasonable in their prices (even cheaper than the bizarre in Marmaris in some cases - though we were at the end of the season). Food was varied and hot. There is an excellent beach bar which was reasonably priced (you may have to ask for the kids menu though as it is not always given you) and both the food and the views here were very good indeed.

On the negative; be warned - room 445 does have twin beds, and so do many of the rooms on the 4th floor - however, determined to stick to our wonderful view (don't expect to get a sea view below the forth floor as there are too many trees !) these were easily pushed together for us, by housekeeping, and was no longer an issue. The food was good, but not to the standard in either quality ,or variety, that we had experienced in the 4* Iberostar Creta Panorama in Crete (and being 5* quite frankly we were expecting much better !). The hotel room was clean, but was a little dated, particularly the bathroom where the floor tiles were stained and finish of tiling poor. Ferral cats were another issue in the outdoor dinnig area - not helped by a small minority of guests actively encouraging them by feeding them at the table - really Iberostar should do more to tackle this problem (its not the first hotel of theirs where we have seen this). The hotel boasts a very impressive water chute running from the outdoor to the indoor pool - however this was only running one day in our seven day visit (despite repeated requests from my son to turn it on). I must point out that this was probably a blessing, as it would not pass any UK safety standards; being lined by concrete and hard rocks from top to bottom - the potential for children to knock themselves unconscious before hitting the plunge pool at the bottom was quite frightening ! As it was, the surface of the chute was painted concrete, which was wearing badly and on our visit and our son picked up a number of nasty grazes to his chest ,back and arms. This coupled with the lazy river's decapitating bridges (!) should lead to a total redesign of the whole pool area - the concepts are good but safety has not been a priority. There are also no toilets near the pool or beach bar area - the nearest being back in the main hotel - not good if you have young kids !! The indoor pool is nice, but very dimly lit for the duration of our stay, though it was occasionally heated to quite a reasonable temperature on an adhoc basis (it would have been nice if they had heated the outdoor pool to the same temperature as a permenant feature !)

Other reviews have said this is the best hotel in Marmaris - I wouldn't doubt it ..(though are a few newer looking ones further out on the Icmeler road, that look like they'd give it a run for its money ). If you are an Iberostar addict though, you could be a little disappointed with this one, given its 5* status.....maybe it is just a cultural difference.... but Iberostar I'm sure you could do much better.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independently booked

Recommended
Claire Burgess
15 years ago
A brilliant hotel. We had a fantastic holiday and the staff were some of the most helpful we have ever come across. The hotel cleanliness was immaculate. Staff were continually cleaning all day and most of the night. Bed linen and towels changed daily. The poolside was spotless. Pool a bit cold but perhaps we didn't want to spend all day in it like the children. The hotel food was excellent. A varied choice of food. Drinks were expensive but you would expect this for 5 star. Breakfast very varied but you have to pay for fresh juice. That was a bit disappointing. Service rather slow and theyr'e not sure how to lay a table for dinner!! Entertainment good; we had two young children but the animation team very friendly.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Cherry
15 years 1 month ago
Hotel staff very friendly ,very clean hotel, lovely setting, entertainment/dire, food excellent, but service in restaurant terrible. Prices of all drinks exorbitant. It was cheaper to go out for an evening meal including drinks, than for drinks only in the hotel. Infact, a childs cocktail was 10ytl compared to a glass of champagne/8ytl, after complaining we did receive a free bottle of wine and fruit. The drink prices and waiter service totally spoilt this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
J Scurr
15 years 1 month ago
The food was very repetitive and boring.One often had to go looking for a waiter to get even the basic of service.

Tables would be set as you waited, two forks/
knives per person.Glasses for wine/water don't be silly.Wine waiter service,are you mad? breakfast/ dinner even the gourmet restaurent the standard of service was pathetic.

Hotel rooms,we had a suite, woowoo,paper peeling of the walls and an A/C unit that leaked water onto the carpet for a week.To use the shower one had to kneel in the bath.
Location,well positioned,just far away from the headbangers area.

The staff,Reception very good and helpful,animation team,very good.The waiters,undertrained to 5* and leaderless..Head waiters,in job title only,ability zero.The dress code for dinner was non existant, flipflops,shorts and vest was the norm.

On two occasions that we were informed of,the pool had to be treated because of persons defacating into at night.
The entertainment is very basic,you will shake your head in disbelief.Have you laughed at a ventriloquist? on the radio.thats the standard.

It was not unusual to be confronted late at night in the gardens by gangs of youths/girls(guests)who's parents had left them to their own devices whilst they were off enjoying the night life.

We stay regularly in 5*hotels and know what 5* service is and the Grand Azur is, internationally at best 3*, by Turkish standards 5*.If you use it,look at the guests comments book in reception,3*holiday makers think its great,4*guests have reservations but accept it,expierenced 5* guests know that it is abysmal.

Finally,in the restaurant,non smokers have to walk through the smoking area to be seated.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: vision holiday

15 years 2 months ago
We stayed in the Grand Azur in July and had a fantastic holiday, we had previously stayed in the Hotel Marti in Icmeler and decided to try this hotel, and we were delighted with our choice.

The standards are extremely high throughout, the choice and quality of food for breakfast and dinner was very good.We like good quality food and we were not disappointed.

We noticed their was always a member of the manangement team walking throughout the restaurant ensuring high standards were maintained at all times.

We found all the staff extremely helpful and attentive, we will return again in 2006.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Emma Spencer
15 years 3 months ago
My Family and I stayed at the Grand Azur in June for 14 nights we couldnt fault it in any way. This was our 1st time in Turkey and we certainly picked the right hotel to stay. All the staff were so friendly and helpful also the animation staff were excellent and made our holiday.

We have all agreed we will not stay anywhere else
in Turkey.

We were only home 3 weeks and we have booked to go again in Sept.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Manos

Recommended
Alison & Keith Barnes
15 years 4 months ago
Oh well - maybe we are fussier than the previous reviewers! However, we are both well travelled and do try to keep an open mind!! Needless to say we were both disappointed with our stay. Largely due to the lack of english speaking staff!!! Don't get me wrong....when in Rome and all that but even the most basic understanding of our great universal language proved to be somewhat lacking! The Animation Team were completely invasive and intrusive!!...they could speak perfectly....all of the time!!
Breakfast dining was below standard. You could sample a glass of their extremely watered down orange squash....yes, squash !! but if you wanted orange juice you had to pay for it! and tinned fruit was a staple part of the menu !!!! However, evening dining was more appetising...thankfully!
Your sun beds are free but if you want to relax comfortably on a mattress...you have to pay for it. Mmmm...nice touch!
I have to give praise to the cleaning and maintenance team who are the backbone of this hotel - such hard workers who truly deserve some recognition.
In all other areas.......
5 star... even by turkish standards....I think not!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Mark And Janet
15 years 4 months ago
As it was our first visit to Turkey we reaserched all the hotels very carefully, this hotel had about the best write up you could find and I can only continue to sing its praises.

The standard of food was excellent both at breakfast and dinner. We ate three times at the pool side bar and once at the beach bar on all of these occasions the food was also excellent. We didn't think much of Marmaris its self but thankfully we where far enough out of the centre not to care that. Thus the 5* scoring of location.

The staff where polite and helpfull on the two occasion's we ate in the gourmet resurant one of which is free for all guests. The food was wonderful but the speed and frequency of the staff could have been a little bit quicker both meals lasted about three hours.

The entertainment was just what I would have expected, piano bar, Turkish night and disco but sitting over looking the sea with wonderful scenery listening to a live band was a really enjoyable way to see the evening out.

In all the brochures the day time activities were listed as darts, chess and tennis, thankfully this did not turn out to be the case as I took part in beach volley, water polo , water volley and shuffle board.

All in all an outstanding hotel 5* in any country and we've been to a few just would'nt rush back to Marmaris.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: T/ cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.