Image of Club Dorado Hotel

Club Dorado Hotel

164 of 173 hotels in Marmaris

2 out of 5 from 10 reviews
3 stars
Merkez Mahallesi Sehit Ahmet Benler Caddesi Sayar Sokak No 2, Marmaris 48700, Turkey

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Becca
12 years ago
I stayed at the hotel for one week I got there and within 12 hours I was wanting to come home.

The all-inclusive is a laugh the food is cold, stale or re-heated and the choice is always chips, smash or rice. If you like curry its ok never much choice the breakfast is continental but it’s just passible.

The snacks you get is at 16.30pm and all you get is a tea, coffee and few biscuits other than that there are no snacks no kids choice. The alcohol is watered down and its cheap named pop.

The staff are ok but never smile they treat you how you treat them. The room is clean and some views can be fantastic.

If you want decent food there are some good bars just down from the hotel and the trips you can take do offer some brilliant food.

The travel insurance you take out is void if you have even one drink so be very careful as the staff doesn’t care if you have an accident as we found out.
Would I recommend the hotel only if room only the food definitely no the drink, god no, to put it bluntly don’t go.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Chunky
12 years 3 months ago
just got back from hotel dorado, just before hi start ime not a fussy person, this hotel is not all inclusive its crap, had no hot water for 4 days wife had to get cold showers, the bath is only 3ft long, after complaing or 4 days they eventually got some hot water, we were woke every morning by the mosk calling the bible bashers, and the cockerils going mad at 4.30 am. breakfast was salad and meats toast and hard boiled eggs, rubbish we went next door to sarahs bar full english 5 lira. the all inclusive is a joke, no snacks unless you pay for them, the bar serves gin vodka, racky, lager 2% ol. servrd in half plastic beeker, the bar losses at 10.30 pm then the main bar opens but you must pay for it, the entertainment is crap rambo does the entainment, he does elvis freddie mercury, tina turner. he confronted my wife when he was drunk, and asked her why she goes elswere, on one accasion he slapped is girlfriend infront of everyone, and had to be dragged awy by the staff, the owner of the hotel as all her family and freinds round on private tables, they dont eat what we eat. the food is served out of 4 steel trays, served by the staff, it is like being in jail, the lift keeps breaking down, old people had to walk 5 flights, hi can truly say this is the worst hotel we have stayed in. we have changed the name to desperado. do knot go here.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: holidays4u

Sarah & Heather
12 years 10 months ago
the all inclusive is a laugh!! there was no choice it was luke warm, if you like curry! sunday they do a roast we went to eat after an excursion with thirty minutes to go before the all inclusive food stopped and there was a small amount left not enough for two people but the management were sitting down with big plate fulls eating they saw us but ignored us as we walked away.
we had to eat out as breakfast was bread eggs and two choices of soggy cereal.
the drinks were watered down so much so you could taste the turkish tap water. the bar staff were very grumpy, rather sit down and chew his nails!
the only time you saw the staff be friendly was to a woman they liked!!
the rooms was Ok the resort was good and we found next door sarah resteraunt very freindly there food was good too. We spent all our omoney on food and drink else where due to the awful food the risk of getting food poisining was so great as it was warm chicken or eggs mostly. do not go there are so many other good places in marmaris.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunmaster

Heather
12 years 10 months ago
the room we had was clean and nice ,maids came in every day .the food was awful not alot of choice,my friend sarah and i arrived 8 oclock in the evening and curry was on menu which was cold that night we stayed at hotel bar which closed at 1030,all the spirits were watered down so you could taste the turkish water not good. location of hotel was good 10 min walk to beach ,buses stopped outside hotel which took you straight into marmaris.but there, is alot of nicer hotels in marmaris, staff very grumpy one or two were happy.average entertainment,we found a bar next door to hotel called sarahs bar which did a fab full english for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunmaster

Hannah
12 years 11 months ago
the food was really bad, no choice only what was served by them the staff were friendly but too friendly if you were a young girl like me on ya own. location was ok there was no such entertainment even when i offered to help out by starting on a karaoke they told me no no no five days into my holiday my room was robbed and my bank card stolen and all money swiped out of my account the staff did not help in any way what so ever they just kept saying it has never happened before my underwear also went missing but when found i did not want it back i will never stay here again and i do not recommend it to anybody unless you just want to sit by the pool all day and do nothing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: media travel teletext holidays

Julie
13 years ago
This was a horrible hotel. The pools and toilets were filthy. Rooms were not great either. One of the employees kept her dog with her - a boxer pup which proceeded to pooh in the middle of the bar one night. Health and safety rules breached there big time ! The food was disgusting too, salad and chips most nights no variation and no-one to explain what the food was. Bar staff and reception staff very rude also. I would definately go back to Marmaris but I would never stay in this hotel nor would i reccommend it to anyone. It should be one star !
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Recommended
Claire Swaby
13 years 1 month ago
We stayed at Club Dorado from 7th July till 14th July 09, we booked last minute with 2 friends and got a bargain.
The staff at the hotel are fantastic, Mustafa and Ebo are fantastic "Ebo's photos are a must" The manager is lovely she mingles with the guests all day and night and is really nice to talk to and approachable if you have any queries. The rooms are lovely and on 2 occasions we had fresh flowers and petals decorating our bed. My boyfriend proposed to me while at club Dorado, so made a great holiday a fantastic one. I would go back again as i loved the hotel, the staff and the surroundings, also fantastic people at pub next door "Sarahs", Only thing i would say was if you only like tradional english food, this is not the hotel for you, we found something to eat at both lunch and tea time from the all inclusive dining room. FANTASTIC !!!! LOVE TO EVERYONE AT CLUB DORADO, xxxx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Teletext Holidays

Recommended
N4bz
13 years 1 month ago
There were 10 of us travelling. When we first arrived at the hotel there was only the receptionist that could be seen the rest of the hotel was dead as we arrived at 3 in the morning. There were 3 rooms with 3 people in two rooms and 4 in the other. In my room the air conditioning started to leak in the middle of the night and when we asked for it to get fixed they ignored us. We had sleep and stay in the heat for 3 days and they just would notcome fix it. It was really hot and it was dangerous too.
The cleanliness of the room was not all great when we first arrived as the bathroom was quite dirty however as the days went the cleaners did do and alright job.
The food when we first arrived wasn't great and we were basically living on salad and chips however after complainig the food did get better. They did not include kiddie meals but that later was changed.
The hotel location was good because we weren't right in the centre and there were quite alot of shops and markets round us. It was cheap and the people were very friendly. Also our excursion place was right next to the hotel called 'Terry's place' who was very cheap indeed.
Some of the hotel staff were quite friendly however most of them were not nice at all. Some them would walk straight past you and would not even smile. The management lacked in communication and people skills as they did not know english and did not smile.
The entertainment at the hotel was okay, we had bellydancing, break dancers, magicians but they lasted for maximum 30 minutes and then their photographer/dancer would take over and dance to the same songs over and over again every day which used to get quite boring.
This hotel is not made for all types of cultures as they cannot accommodate for them they priorotise only certain people. Being all inclusive means unlimited drinks however they do not keep the drinks ad the alcohols in separate glasses so when you drink from the glasses you can smell the alcohol.
The staff did not help us bring our luggage down or put it in the minibus when we were leaving but they just sat there watching. When we were leaving not even one of the staff came up to us and said 'bye' or 'hope you enjoyed your stay' being a Muslim this hotel was not for us, they could not accomodate for us and they ignored us. I would not reccommend this hotel especially to Muslims.
The hotel is not child friendly, the swimming pool is so deep that even i could not reach the ground, they have not kiddie chairs, nor provide cots for children, they do not have a fridge to keep water.
The lift fits only 3-4 people and if more go in it you get stuck.
Lastly back to the air con again in the other room on our last 3 days the air con started to leak, this was in my aunties room and they rang the receptionist who said they wopuld send someone. They sent no-one and they like us had to sleep in the humidity and therefore could not sleep. It go worse that on the last day due to the air con not working they had to sleep in our room where there was 6 of us altogether sharing 3 single beds. This was how much we were ignored. When we checked out at 12 on our last day the people who moved in that same room found the air con was not working and they rang the receptionist and they sent someone straight away, that angered us so much and thats how ignorant and careless they were.
Overall we enjoyed our holiday and did not let this spoil it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: On the beach

L And B
13 years 3 months ago

This hotel was formally known as 'the ares'

The manager/owner is a really lovely woman, She mingles with the guests all throughout the day and night, there's also a really nice photographer there but you dont get hassled to purchase the pictures he takes. He also joined in when the kids were up dancing and in general just mingled about as well speaking to the guests.

Reception is 24 hours and once again the staff there are brilliant, you can change money no matter what time of the day or night it is.

The maids do a brilliant job of keeping your rooms and the hotel clean, once again this could not be faulted.

If you've booked this hotel you'll have a brilliant time, we booked it with scottravel and the rep was there all the time and mixed in with the guests, I normally book with other well known travel agents and seldom see the rep.

We done a last minute deal and paid cheap for it, so i wasn't expecting much with it being 3 star, but i was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and friendliness off all the staff there.

This is the first year is been all inclusive and according to the hotel owner and bar manager it will be the last year, as they reckon they are losing to much money doing all inclusive.

I can only assume that they are losing the money on the drink as the food was terrible, the salad bar was lovely and the soup was quite nice as well, although what was served at lunch was reinvented with the addition of some vegetables or herbs to turn it into a different kind for the evening meal.

Although they advertise it as buffet meals, its only breakfast and the salad bar that is self serve buffet, at lunch and at dinner the chef (who was really lovely by the way) served you your food, at lunch time there are 3 dishes, one is some form of vegetable the other is either cheesy puffs, pasta or what i can only describe as slop stew and the other is chips.

Dinner there are 4 dishes, rice or pasta, chips or wedges, veg and once a week either chicken, meat balls (yuk) spag balls (spot the mince) fish, cheese straws, stew.

I felt really sorry for the chefs because on the Sunday evening when they did serve chicken everyone wanted it but if you asked for a 2nd piece he had to say no (obviously under instruction from management)

On the plus side, it takes you nearly a week to realise the food is so awful, thats if you enjoy the benefits of the all inclusive drink ;) oh and the food was always piping hot so that was a bonus. The people that clear your table always do so with a big smile on their faces and were always very friendly.

The bar itself stops serving all inclusive at 22.30 and if you have any plans of trying to line up drink before then, your wasting your time, you'll be told you already have enough drink on your table. The bar staff are really friendly tho, especially murat and mustaffa, they have the tolerance of saints when it comes to dealing with drunks, so hats off to them.

The hotel is on a main bus route but the walk into marmaris only takes about 15 mins, you leave the hotel walk straight to the bottom of the road, take your first left then your first right, you come to a sort of y shaped road so keep bearing right and that brings you onto the main drag. Just before the main drag (on the left hand side) you'll pass about 6 shops, we bought most of our things (t, shirts, purses, sandals handbags etc) from there as they have prices in the shop so you dont gets hassled or need to haggle.

There's loads of places for eating and drinking within less than 2 mins from the hotel, we tried breakfast at sarahs bar (owned by Sarah the manager of club dorado)and also an evening meal there, both times were excellent. We also used a little cafe/bar just across the road and to the left of the hotel (apex bar) for an evening meal and that was lovely, used another cafe/bar for breakfast and evening meal, it was called cousins bar and is opposite the apex bar that was also really good. We ate in marmaris itself and all of the steak houses are really good, or you could just get plainer food if you wanted. Also in marmaris you get burger king, mcdonalds etc so if you've got fussy kids you'll be ok. Breakfast on average works out about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: scottravel

Recommended
Scott Family
13 years 3 months ago
Dorarda hotel was wonderfull, No one could wish for better,the staff were so friendly infact we became one big family . the food was exseptionaly good.We would never wish to visit anywere else planning to go agin in september 2009.
Thankyou to all the many people we met,you will never be forgotten.If you are planning a holiday in Turkey, make sure you stay at the Dorada'''
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: scott travel

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.