Image of Cosmopolitan Resort Hotel

Cosmopolitan Resort Hotel

115 of 173 hotels in Marmaris

3 out of 5 from 27 reviews
4 stars
Datca Yolu Uzeri Armutalan-Marmaris, 48700 Marmaris, Turkey

27 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Steve Roberts
Not cheap
11 years 3 months ago
Me and my girlfriend paid for 10 nights, 11 days here, we set off on the 20.5.11 and arrived at 6am on 21.5.11 we thought we still had a day left but we had to pay 35tl to keep the room on till 5 although we didn't get picked up for travelling to airport till 9.

I argued that checking in at 6 in the morning didn't constitute a night. Well under duress I paid because my girlfriend was so upset by all the arguing with the desk manager. It seems from the moment you land until the second you take off the Turks are on a mission to squeeze every last lira out of you, my girlfriend felt intimidated by it all, no more cosmo or turkey for me I will stick to sunny Spain as it rained for 4 consecutive nights, not a bad holiday but a long way from cheap.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Walker
Excellent holiday had by all the family
11 years 11 months ago
Thank you Cosmopolitan for a fully enjoyable holiday, after 2 weeks with my family of 2 boys aged 11 and 13 myself and husband in the Cosmopolitan Apartments/hotel Marmaris Turkey we felt the need to post our thoughts.

Prior to our holiday we did what most people do and read the reports for the accommodation, after doing so we were worried as most of the comments were very poor reports regards to the accommodation, staff, resort and other holiday makers.

We went on our holiday wondering what we would be going to, it was great. I don't know what is wrong with people all those bad reports of the place being dirty, it was completely opposite, you couldn't ask for cleaner accommodation, the staff were constantly cleaning 24/7, working long hours and couldn't do enough to help. I agree some of the staff seemed a little distant but that's people for you. The room we were in was small but gave our family of 4 a great place to rest and re charge the batteries.

The accommodation had air conditioning which was chargeable at 30 Euro per week, however be aware the units were only in the bedroom in the apartment we were in, safe was chargeable at 30 Euro for the 2 weeks. The maids came to clean the apartment every day, they were pleasant and did an excellent job.

The pools are excellent, one for those who just want to chill by the pool, the other for the kids with the water slides and a jacuzzi, be aware that taking your own food and drink around the pool area is a not allowed. Food in the accommodation we felt was a little bit over priced however it was good quality, and a very short walk takes you to an array of bars which you can get a meal very reasonable also a short walk to the local supermarket which is very reasonable. Approximately 15 minutes walk takes you into the market area and the shops where you can attempt to fend off the sellers all wanting your money.

Entertainment was on most nights with a good variety, always finishing about 2330hrs so you could rest ready for the next enjoyable day.

So if you read all the bad reports I believe it is a personal choice, we had a fantastic family holiday and would return to the Cosmopolitan Apartments again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Michelle Jackson
Very rude
11 years 11 months ago
We are just back from the Cosmopolitan yesterday and my advice to you is do not stay here if your British. It seems more appropriate to stay here if you are German or Scandinavian.

The staff don’t smile or say hello. On our departure when we were checking out all we got from reception staff was 'ok'. I was at least expecting a 'thank you for your stay' - very rude!

It isn’t far from the centre of marmaris which is about the only good thing. Also when we arrived at 4am we were put in room 601 which is like a dungeon but at the top of the hotel and is the only room in the whole place that doesn’t have a balcony, the curtains had holes in them and the bathroom window didn’t close, so we complained and got moved but not till 8.30pm the next night. Was not amused as it completely ruined the first day of our holiday.

Then we weren’t aware of the extra costs for things. We had to pay 120 lira for the air con for 2 weeks, 60 lira for a safe box, and 30 lira to keep our room on till 5pm the day of departure as we weren’t getting picked up till 9pm that night and you have to be out of your room by 12 midday.
Loved Turkey itself and had a good time but will never stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Tracy
Fantastic time!
12 years ago
We stayed at the cosmopolitan resort with our 2 children and had a fantastic time.
The room was clean and we found the staff to be friendly.
The children loved the pool with the slides which was also clean. There were some games on around the pool for them to join in with during the day.
I felt that drinks prices at the pool bar were on a par with restaurants in Marmaris, around 4 Turkish lira for a pint.

There is entertainment on an evening which wasn’t the best but the kids really enjoyed it, which meant we could relax.

We only ate at the hotel once, I felt it was quite expensive and there was better in Marmaris centre.

The hotel is 1km away from the centre, we got a taxi in from the rank outside the hotel which was £5, or there is the dolmus stop a 15 minute walk away.
We had a lovely time here and are returning next year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
KATY
12 years ago
hotel had rabbits in small holding for kids to pester the life out of.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: HAYS

British Couple
12 years 9 months ago
Just got back from Marmaris today never been before or Turkey, we had a fantastic time weather high 20's to 30C all week no rain. Hotel Cosmopolitan Resort is set on the main road into Marmaris from Dalaman airport, but we had no problem with this. Good mixture of English,Dutch,Scandernavian etc. Hotel staff we dealt with very helpful, cleaners really good, we were on self catering basis so never ate in hotel resturaunt so can't comment also never experienced hotel's entertainment although seemed to be things on each night for families/kids. Although set on main road no problems with security or kids safety albeit a little noisy if room is facing road till midnight but veiw of surrounding area makes up for this. It is approx 20 steady walk to beach / habour passing many resturaunts but local bus 'Dolmas' are regular and cheap. Pools are brilliant, Kipa supermarket (Turkish Tesco) just down road (if self catering) many bars/eating houses 5/10 mins walk in each direction. Late sept/early October ideal time, hotel busy enough but not packed able to get sunbed any time of the day during our stay.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Anon
12 years 10 months ago
DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU ARE BRITISH !!!!!!

during our stay no matter what we asked for we were always asked if we were english upon responding with a yes we were always told we had to pay extra for these things.
if your english the stff are very obnoxious and you dont even get a good morning or good evening off them.

i.e remote control for tv,
air conditioning(we went 2 weeks without this as we did not realise or were told of any extra charges and only took money that we needed for spend and food)

if you leave your lights on you also get charged

we had 2 cokes one evening cost about
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

12 years 11 months ago
We arrived at 03:00 and registered at reception. Given the key to our apartment and shown to the lift. Our apt turned out to be pretty poor, more appropriate to a 2*. Poorly decorated and maintained, I even had to fix the plumbing 'cos of the row it was making! Also, even at 03:30 with all windows open it was roasting, just like the CH was going full blast! We were NOT happy bunnies! We spoke to our Cooks rep who was sympathetic and helpful, and a few days later we were in a much better apt. Slightly smaller, not such a nice view, but a lot nicer and much cooler too. NOW we were happy bunnies!
Cosmo has 2 pools, we mainly used the smaller one. There were plentiful sunbeds, but mattresses and brollies in short supply. There were sunbeds available until abt 08:30---09:00 most days after which they quickly filled up. Each pool had a bar attached to it, that also served food. Bar prices a bit high but not excessive. same for food , which was ok.
The Cosmo is well placed in Marmaris, abt 5 mins on the dolmus to the centre and harbour area. You could probably walk it in less than 30 mins. 10 mins walk away was a more local bar street, we went up there a few times.Directly accross the road from Cosmo was the YASEMIN Market. A very handy little shop which we used a lot. 5 minutes walk away was a KIPA supermarket, (Tesco). The little Marmaris Restaurant was just a few mins walk over the road, we used it a lot. Its not the most fashionable or stylish place in town but VERY convenient and reasonable value too. Also, should you or any of your party be too tired, sunburnt or drunk to walk over,they do T/A's too!.
A word of warning;the safe security boxes are NOT in your room, they are near reception.The Cosmo runs a credit card system which you use to pay for drinks and meals etc. We have seen this system before and do NOT like it at all. Had we known about it in advance we may not have booked at Cosmo.
The hotel staff were all pleasant and friendly and mostly spoke good English. There were plenty of us English there but also plenty of Dutch and Scands.
All in all the Cosmo wasnt bad. My wife and family liked it and were happy with it. And while I thought it was o k, I gotta say its not very high on my list of must go back one places
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thom Cook

Recommended
Stephanie
13 years ago
Never stay here again too far away was told 10 mins walk not entertainment same as we were there 2 weeks went out most nights anyway my boys nike trainers were stole at the pool told staff got nothing back joke told rep also was getting me complaints form stil waiting air con is a joke only in the bedroom self catering with 2 rings cleaners lovely and the staff were all greaeeet espially muret sexy tom jack and gerry and you pay extra for your room 35 lira but you need too be out by 5 that day lucky for us my sis was there so we used there room other wise we would have had too use complimentry room disgusting for this hotel never again going back next year but defo not here dont go
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Ron Cameron
13 years 1 month ago
I thought the staff were great and I esspeccialy thought jimmy and paul and colin were the most entertaining and friendly,the cleaners were great too.
and the tv was massive and the room was lovely.I would defenetly go back to see the staff again and get served a drink by paul and his pretty girl friends
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.