Image of Green Abacus Hotel

Green Abacus Hotel

93 of 173 hotels in Marmaris

4 out of 5 from 18 reviews
3 stars
Gokturkler Cdbakacak Mevkii No:14, Marmaris, Turkey

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Abacus Green
15 years ago
We stayed in the Abacus Green Hotel. No one knew it by this name it used to be called Sarba 6.

The beach was about 10-15 minute bus ride away. The hotel was run down our door looked patched up as if it had been kicked in. It was quite clean but very basic.

While we stayed there for 1 week there were at least 3 burst water pipes, one in our sons room at 2.30 am. It is very noisy as some of the rooms are right above the pool and bar area.

The rooms at the back looked over private houses, we had a large dog keep us awake barking until about 2.00 am most nights.

The very small pool is at the front of the hotel so you get cars passing all day. The childrens pool is about 3 foot square. There is nowhere for children to play. This is supposed to be 3 star all inclusive. You had to pay for ice creams, bottled water and drinks after 11.00am. Meal times were only for a couple of hours with no snacks apart from cake and tea in the afternoon and soup at midnight.

The food was ok but very little choice. We were told by a rep that pork is not served as it is a muslim country, Every resteraunt very close by sold full English breakfast. Very few people bothered with breakfast. There was very little fruit served, melon a couple of times plums and grapes. There were apples on one occation I would not have fed them to a horse they looked so bad.

It was really noisy as we had children playing out side our room as there was nowhere else to play. One day no towels were left so we phoned down for some, they braught us damp towels that looked like they had been used.

When they cleaned the swimming pool out and refilled it there was no running water so you could not shower of flush toilets.

Drinks were served in plastic beakers these were rough and not very clean. You could only get small soft drinks of fanta, lemonade and coke. I asked for a large coke they said only beer was served in the large beakers. I would never go all inclusive to Turkey again. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The only people that seemed to enjoy it were the loud drinkers that were that drunk they didn,t bother what else was there.

One more thing the lift kept stopping in between floors the doors kept opening onto a brick wall safer to walk up to the 4th floor.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: gold trail

Catriona,sean
15 years 1 month ago
Jeezo reading these reviews makes me wanna go back.

We didn't pay lots so didnt expect alot but were surprised at how ace it was the staff had the kind of humour we love and photo joe wandering about with his camera and smile made us laugh especially since none of the staff knew his name an just called him photo....nice. The breakdancers were amazing I wanted to shrink them and take them home.

The food was nice and I mostly ate at the salad bar cause it was good and crunchy, sean was shappy enough as there was chicken on most days.

The room was clean and if you can get a room at the back of the hotel its really quiet.

Overall I would recommend this hotel! And go to the resturant adore an have peppered steak.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Kelly
15 years 10 months ago
I have only been back 3 days and am still sulking about having to leave!

The hotel isn't 5 star luxury but was always immaculately clean with rooms and pool cleaned daily. It was actually very reassuring to see the pool water tested every day.

I went with my sister and we are both extremely fussy eaters so didn't have high expectations of the food but we were very pleasantly surprised, there was good selection and at every meal we had a choice of things thart we would eat.

Location is good, not in the centre of marmaris so slightly quiter - exactly what we were looking for although it is far from isolated. Good bus links to the beach and town that were very cheap mean they are easily accessible and there are a number of good shops, bars and restaurants just down the road.

The staff at this hotel are what really made our holiday so special - they are amazing! I have never met a bunch of people so friendly and willing to go out of their way to help. They seem to work horrendous hours and yet even when they look tired they are never short of a smile and friendly comment.

Entertainment was good, Iceman was so funny and always kept us laughing. They had dancers come in to break dance, perform acrobatics etc and they were just awesome. Again the staff were great with the waiters often taking 10 minutes out to help get the dancing started!

I would go back to this hotel again without a doubt, in fact i'd go tomorrow if i could! If you are looking for a hotel that provides a fantastic holiday and great value for money then look no further.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Recommended
Stephen Morgan
15 years 10 months ago
Our holiday didn't get off to a very good start because our taxi driver who met us at the airport had terrible trouble trying to find this hotel. Apparantly, the name has been changed to Green Abacus, yet it is still known as Club Sarba 6 to every taxi driver we met!!! Even stranger, when we arrived at the hotel, it had both The Green Abacus and Club Sarba 6 names on the signs. Why bother to change the name?- I don't know!

As soon as we arrived at reception, we had to part with money for our all inclusive wristbands, as well as extra money for the air-con remote control, and even more money for the safe key. We did like the fact that the safes were kept in the reception area as it seemed more secure.

The room was very basic but clean. The fridge was a decent size for us to store large bottles of water. We had a really nice pool view from our balcony. However, it was extremely noisy in the nights, as the bar was directly underneath our room. Also, we had to keep the curtains closed as everyone could see into our room from the pool area (our room was no 117 by the way!)

In order to get a sunlounger, you had to be up at the crack of dawn. Also, the pool was at the front of the hotel and was very small.

The choice of food was very basic- only 4 hot dishes to choose from, but there was a vast selection of salads!

With the hot food, the choice was mostly chicken, burgers, meatballs and chips every day. This is why we chose to eat out every single day, so we didn't really get our money's worth from the all-inclusive deal.

Our favourite restaurant was the Red Roses. This was about a 2 min walk from the hotel. There were also a few other nice restaurants nearby, some with entertainment such as belly dancing or karaoke.

As for the evening entertainment at the hotel, it was nothing special really. The best entertainment was from the break dancers, but they didn't even work for the hotel. In fairness, the staff who worked for the hotel were always friendly and always laughing and joking. Most of the guests at the hotel were really selfish. The evening entertainment started at 9:30 and evening meals weren't served til 7pm, yet there were guests who practically camped out from 6pm just to get a table around the pool area, because this is where all the entertainment was held in the nights.

The hotel is a bit far away from the resort centre, but there is a bus stop around the corner. Don't attempt to walk or you will get lost!

Overall, for the price of the holiday you can't really fault this hotel. We would go back to Turkey, but would stay at a different hotel which is nearer to the beach and resort centre.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Freedom Direct

Kevin
15 years 11 months ago
Just got back from the hotel Club Sarba (Abacus Green)had a really good holiday. Was a bit worried reading some of the previous reviews. But the hotel was clean, the food was good and edible, a few more main course choices would have been nice, but hey for what we payed no complaints.

Breakfasts where fine cereal or breads jams etc and you could make up a Brit breakfast replacing the bacon with a sort of fried spam they use, beans, eggs.

The staff where second to none very friendly and helpful and the resident DJ The Iceman a first class entertainer and nice person.

Took a day by courtesy bus free from the hotel to Icemelar, well worth it.

Overall would return tomorrow.

if you want 5 star luxury don't book here but if you want value for money and a good holiday this is the place for you.

ps If you've got little ones the main pool is one depth about 5 and half foot deep so use armbands or make them use the little splash pool.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Recommended
Megan
15 years 11 months ago
I have just returned from the hotel Club Sarba. The hotel was absolutely brilliant. I have to admit our first impressions were a bit doubtful as we had visited Spain and were expecting a slightly bigger resort, but after the first night it was clear the holiday would be the best by far.

There was never a lack of food or choice, the meals were all of a very high standard.

All the staff who work in the hotel deserve a medal! especially the waiters, they are some of the friendly, lovely people I have ever met. They always had our family in fits of laughter and, there some people that you know you won't ever forget! Could not complain about them in the slightest.

Without a doubt, given the chance I'd jump on a plane right now and go back!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Recommended
Carol
15 years 11 months ago
We have just returned from our second holiday in club sarba (now green abacus)had a really great stay again glad to see so many other people enjoyed it there too, cos even though the hotel is fairly basic the staff all work so hard to make sure everyone has a good time.

You get what you pay for on holiday and ours was a good price for 9 people and we make the most of day trips out (boat trip
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Recommended
Karen And Brian, Matthew And Joe
15 years 11 months ago
We booked an all inclusive holiday, only to be told that it a soft inclusive holiday, that means there no bar snacks and icecream those had to be paid for.. there wasn;t much choice in meals when we got there, but I have to say that seems to change at the end of our holiday, try the tripe soup lovelly (I don't think).

The staff was very friendly and helpful can't complain about them. There hardly any entertainment for our children only a pool table which cost 7 lira for an hour and a occasional dart board, Kids around the hotel seemed to have fun fighting or playing with the only lift!!

Iceman always put a kids film on at 9pm for the children to watch, poor quality because they was copies!! Wasn't bad the location plenty of buses cheap to. Hotel was kept clean the maids really had a hard time cleaning my boys room what a mess they made but she did it without complaining she had a good tip of us. Bedding was changed once a week.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Lynn And John (scousers)
16 years 2 months ago
We got back last week and what a holiday we had.The hotel staff where very friendly and helpfull.The food was good considering what we paid for the holiday there was always somthing for everyone to eat at meal times.We liked the location of the hotel it is in the middle of marmaris and ishmeler but a bus ride to both only costs 1 lira about 50p.

Iceman (Splashman)was a brilliant entertainer always getting the guests to join in the fun.If you are visiting this hotel go on the trip with Iceman to Paradise Island it really is paradise, it was the best trip we went on while we were their, and we went on a few.
We are hoping to go back in september so watch out iceman you really made are holiday.

Best wishes John and Little Lynn x
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: gold trail

Recommended
Hollie
16 years 9 months ago
This hotel is great I want to go back soo much!!

The food.... is fantastic breakfast is so nice but don't expect English breakfast you go aboard to get away from England plus you can't expect bacon in a Muslim country can you they have a wide range anyway

Lunch time is nice they also has a wide range of food and desert

Afternoon tea is served about 3:00 which is nice to have next to the pool

Dinner is nice you sit outside eating with a candle next to pool witch is light up listing to music. This is all very clean

The pool.... is nice pool deep to but there are floats and lilos and stuff that the hotel supplies so you don't need to take your own. They have a a baby paddling pool next to it so little kids can play but if you want then I'm the pool take armbands. It's nice and cold in the heat too!
It gets cleaned basically everyday so very clean

Rooms, are nice 1 double bed 1 single the rooms get cleaned everyday and the bathroom with shower is nice has its own hairdryer so you don't need to take yours. The balcony is nice we over looked the pool so its nice to look out in the morning the back view of hotel its mountains and stuff.

Staff........Iceman is the DJ very cheeky person but in a nice way. Waiters are really friendly so are the bar staff the are really helpful and speak excellent English.

PLEASE GO TO THIS HOTEL ITS GREAT

I got back Monday the 0th 0f October now its the 12th I'm still missing it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.