Image of Club Antique Palace Hotel

Club Antique Palace Hotel

117 of 173 hotels in Marmaris

3 out of 5 from 82 reviews

82 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    17
  • Very Good
    26
  • Good
    21
  • Average
    10
  • Poor
    8

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Pammie
Dated hotel with basic rooms and food
9 years 3 months ago
This hotel is very dated, rooms are a nice size but not very clean and old fashioned. The maids do bare essentials, we had to ask for clean towels and bedding on both occasions, other than that she mopped bathroom floor and took out rubbish.

The food was reasonably priced in the restaurant and tasty enough but was very small portions, the breakfasts were well worth the money. The entertainment wasn't up to much even though the staff tried their best.

There isn't a kids club as advertised and the hotel has been split into two by a brick wall. The other side of the wall is called Club Green Dream, most companies selling this hotel is selling the old antique place before it was split in two.

The pools are quite deep so if your child is not a confident swimmer the water can be quite dangerous. The floor around the pools is very slippery when wet. The staff are really friendly and helpful. We did have a good holiday and we would visit the hotel but not stay there again but would go and say hi to all the guys.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Caz
No need to worry.
10 years ago
Well I read some of the reviews for this hotel after we had booked and started to wonder exactly what we had let ourselves in for.

On arrival we were checked in with minimal fuss and the reception staff were polite and friendly. A member of staff carried our luggage to our room that was on the top floor. Once in our room we had a good look around it was surprisingly big with a separate bedroom and a massive balcony. We inspected the kitchen and bathroom and were please that they were clean. The beds were clean and the sheets were crisp the towels were very clean and everything was to an acceptable standard.

We ate in the hotel restaurant that night as we were too tired to venture out. Unfortunately the food was not great but they made a valid effort with the entertainment. Following this meal we did not eat there again but found an excellent restaurant 2 minutes up the road Amadeus Funhouse.

There was a choice of 3 swimming pools and lots of sunbeds so we were satisfied with the pool area.

We did not like the pushy salesman from the onsite jewellery shop he hassled us a bit too much. We did buy gold while we were there but not from him. We had an excellent bargain and were really pleased that staff from Amadeus took us to a respectable jewellery shop.

Overall we would stay at the hotel again and would recommend it to friends and family.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Nikki
10 years 2 months ago
arrived at this hotel 7 July for our honeymoon was taken to our room which was filthy dirty dried blood on the sheets bathroom dirty , air con had bare wires hanging down got shocked off air con , tried to communicate with staff re dirty room and he replied why u bloody moan hey , rang rep and asked to be moved out of this hell hole , whilst waiting for rep to come watched the staff cleaning around pool couldn't believe wot i was seeing the young boy cleaned the kitchen floor with the dirty mop then put in into the pool to clean it off couldn't believe it i had recorded this on my camera and when i showed the manger tj he just laughed staff very rude and ignorant finally we were moved out of this poo hole and i would never recommend to anyone .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

10 years 2 months ago
Before I give my review, let me point out this is my 11th visit to Turkey, 6th to Marmaris, so I completely knew what to expect from a 3 star hotel.

I wasn’t expecting the Ritz, but neither was Antique Palace anywhere near as bad as I expected. We arrived 9.30pm on a Sunday night, fully expecting to have problems with our room, or overbooking etc. Nothing. We were the only people to arrive at that time so got checked in straight away. Paid £4 per day for air conditioning (£56) plus £2 per day for the safe (£28), so an additional total of £84 for two weeks. Again this is standard in most self catering 3 stars in Turkey, no surprise there.

Shown to room, room no 1210 in block 1, directly above reception. I was actually pleasantly surprised. It was clean, spacious and definitely nowhere near as bad as I’d been led to believe by various reviews. There were two single beds in the biggish bedroom area with a bedside cabinet and a dressing table with a stool. All in dark wood and quite old fashioned but not falling apart at all.

In the living area there was a double couch bed, a single couch bed (not made up) but also a full size single bed for our nearly 8 year old son. The single bed was made up with fresh sheets ready to go. There is a corner shelf with a small portable TV on it (I have no idea if it was working as we don’t go on hols to watch telly!). A cupboard for hanging clothes in the corner and an additional set of shelves with hooks above it for hanging towels or whatever. Each room had a balcony off it overlooking the pool and restaurant/bar area.

We actually ended up moving the single bed into the bedroom for our son, as the air conditioning unit is only in the bedroom and the living room was far too hot for him to sleep in. I’m terrified of mosquitoes so I wouldn’t leave the living room balcony door open, otherwise it might have been cool enough. However, there was plenty of room for three single beds alongside each other in the bedroom.

Also within the living room area is a small kitchen, this comprised of 2 base cupboards, with room for a fridge and 3 wall units. There was a kettle, toaster and 2 ring cooker. We noticed that we only had a tiny fridge, which appeared to be from one of the hotel rooms in the style of a mini bar fridge, definitely not suitable for 2 weeks self catering. Not to worry though on speaking to reception, they changed it the next day for me to a full size fridge that was absolutely freezing and had a superb freezer compartment for freezing bottles of water.

In the cupboards was a selection of plates and bowls, not matching, but perfectly adequate for four people, along with various glasses and cups. There were 4 sets of cutlery and a few wooden spoons, salad tongs, and a ladle. There was one decent size pot, a frying pan and a straining colander. So all you’d really need for self catering if you wanted to cook a lunch etc in your room. There was also a 2 ring portable hob which wasn’t the fastest but it did work fine once it got going and I made a few lunches of pasta n sauce or noodles just for a quick snack. I wouldn’t attempt to cook a three course meal mind you.

The bathroom is quite small and I have to say the lighting in here is crap. Yeah it was a bit shabby, but it certainly wasn’t filthy. Could have been doing with a new shower curtain as it was a bit dingy and had several stains on it, but I could live with that. The tiles etc are quite old fashioned but I wasn’t there to admire the décor. We came in at night, had a shower, went out and came home and went to bed for a few hours before going out for the day and this room was perfectly fine for us to do that.

The majority of the staff at the hotel are lovely, in particular Rami who is the restaurant and bar manager is very friendly and good at his job. The food in the hotel was also very good. We were offered the opportunity to upgrade to half-board of £69 each and our soon for free (this is only meant to be for up 0-6 year olds 6-12 are usually half price). The half board consisted of a full English breakfast each morning, I was quite saddened and surprised to see that Turkey are now offering proper pork sausages and back bacon. Don’t get me wrong it was lovely but just shows you how Blackpool-like Marmaris has become in even the past two years, as back bacon was not to bed had in the restaurants and cafes.

So English brekkie in the mornings, which was lovely, or you could choose from the traditional Turkish breakfast offered to the B&B guests, eggs, cheese, bread, cucumber, tomatoes, pastries etc. Plus there was tea, coffee, orange juice (not fresh) and water. The English brekkie was 1 slice back bacon, 1 pork sausage, 2 slices toast, 2 fried eggs, Heinz beans, mushrooms, half a grilled tomato and HP sauce on the table, not a complaint at all other than its not very Turkish!

The half board option in the evening was a Turkish bread with meze dips then a starter of either soup or garlic bread with or without cheese. Then a choice of the full normal menu offered to everyone else, with the exception of a T-bone steak, the meals for 2 and the fish. We actually saved quite a lot of money doing this and ate in the hotel for 7 nights out of 14. Standard fare offered to the guests in Turkey such as chicken dishes, steaks, burgers and everything with chips and rice of course. The traditional Turkish casseroles are also offered on the menu and they are gorgeous, I highly recommend trying them. You could also have a fruit plate or ice cream for dessert.
The half board option also included the Turkish Buffet Night and full Sunday lunch at no extra charge. Both of these were lovely and I highly recommend.

Other staff worth a mention are Antonio, who can seem very miserable but actually when you get to know him is a lovely guy but with a very solemn face and a very very dry sense of humour. He’s lovely though once you get by that facade he puts up. Vince, Oscar, Ed and the little bald deaf water (I have forgotten his name!) are all really lovely. The two guys who work the pool area during the day are a complete pain in the behind though, in particular Mehmet who is an arrogant swine. Any problems with them though just speak to Rami who will sort them out. Mehmet is a sleaze who hangs around every girl, thinks he’s gorgeous (he’s not) and is all over you checking if you are drinking your own water etc. He pesters you to order drinks all the time too. Just tell him to get lost and he’ll soon get the message.

Some mornings I was down at the pool at 7.15am just because I was awake, other mornings it was 11am and I still managed to get a lounger. Not always by the pool but around somewhere and the pests will usually find you a lounger if you’re struggling. They do say that towels left unattended for more than one hour or put down before 8am will be removed. It doesn’t happen very often but I did see one or two people having to retrieve their towels from reception or the bar, which can only be a good thing.

There is a hairdressers and tattoo parlour with an internet café on site. The costs are approx 10 lira for 1 hour on the playstation, or 2.5 lira for half an hour on the internet. The staff in the hairdressers are really nice, in particular Mehmet who is the barber. He gives a great Turkish shave for 10 lira. I had a pedicure and manicure done here too. I can’t remember the price but worked out about £20, not overly impressed but it did. Mehmet is a lovely guy and I would highly recommend him for a shave or a haircut. My little boy had a haircut and designs done which was about 40 lira, really good value considering the amount of work that went into it. The other guy known as Marti who wanders around doing pr giving out leaflets etc is a nice guy too but he does get a bit overbearing at times. Give them a chance though as they work hard.

Overall we didn’t have any major problems. I’d say it’s all little niggly things that are annoying about this hotel. We were quite lucky in that the maid did come in every day, she even did our washing up which I don’t think I’ve had in many apartments before. The beds were made up every single day and clean towels most days. There was a couple of times I had to go to reception and ask for more towels as we had only been left 1 between us or none at all. It happened max three times. As I said nothing major, but just annoying.

One majorly annoying thing is the waterslides. They are on twice a day for two hours each, but in between this the owners kids (three little Turkish Boys) are spending their whole time running up the slides and doing back flips into the splash pool. They are adorable wee boys, but completely mental and do start to annoy you after a while. They are also wild and their father doesn't keep them under control. Subsequently I spent half my holiday trying to stop my wee fella from copying them and getting into bother. Rules are rules for a reason and they should apply to everyone, not kids getting to run wild just because their dad owns half the place. I think this was the one thing I moaned most about.

I heard plenty of guests complaining, especially to the poor rep Billy who is a lovely lad and is doing his best. Lots of complaints about there not being rooms for people and them being put into a basement room for the night. I also heard of plenty of families turning up in large groups and some of them being moved to other hotels for a few days. Again not something that happened to us but I can sympathise that it might be annoying.

The week before we arrived there had been bailiffs at the hotel who removed furniture and air con units from Block 4. I think it’s this block that the crap furniture and bad room reports are coming from as only some of the rooms have been partially furnished again. This seems to be what is causing the problem with the overbookings as half the rooms are still lying empty. I’m very glad we didn’t end up in this block.

I wouldn’t suggest going half board in AP if you’re only here for a week, as there are so many nice bars and restaurants within the vicinity that you really should get out and about.

There is a little bar just outside the hotel to the left called Hot Stuff, we spent a few nights in there and it has 2 playstations and a Wii for the kids. They quite often have evening entertainment on in the form of the usual nonsense you find in Marmaris such as Michael Jackson impersonators, break dancers, Robotman and the staff all doing their dances of course. The boys in here are friendly though and always quite happy to sit and have a blether with you. Their more than happy to chat up any single ladies too mind you. The drinks are slightly cheaper than Antique Palace, but their cocktails are always on 2 for 1 at around 12-13 lira, compared to 9-10 lira for one in AP Bar. Completely avoid their other bar outside the Golden Orange Apartments (further up on the left) called Simpsons 2. All the staff are miserable as sin, they claim to have a bouncy castle (which is burst) and a playpark, it’s a dive, the food is crap and I didn’t even leave a tip I was so unhappy.

Across from the Golden Orange Apartments is a lovely little bar called New York Bar & Restaurant. What a great little find. It shows all the soaps at night, not my taste but maybe for some people. They have free internet terminals (inc wifi), a wii and an Xbox. They also have a pool table and a couple of little toys for smaller kids. The bar manager Ahmet is lovely, they are not pushy at all and you just receive a warm welcome, no hassle at all. The owner and his wife are often around with their little twins too and are a lovely couple. As are all the waiters here who are very relaxed and happy to sit down and chat, teach you Turkish or improve their English.

After popping in here a few times we were offered the chance to join them on a trip to the owner’s brothers beach in Hisaronu (Marmaris not Fethiye). We were a bit hesitant at first but many of the regulars talked us into it saying what a fabulous day it was so we went along and I’m really glad we did. We left from the bar in an old rickety dolmus for the travel up over the hill about 30 mins away, at times we really didn’t think the bus would make it up the hill, but it did. We arrived at what appeared to be an old scabby restaurant on a shingle beach, but how first impressions can be wrong.

There was about 12 sunloungers right on the water with a lovely big garden with loads of bean bags and a hammock to lie around on. It was lovely and peaceful and I thought our peace was shattered when the jeep safari crew popped in for drinks. They were gone in half an hour though and peace was resumed. It didn’t cost us anything for the bus there or back but of course we would be having lunch and drinks there. We also hired a kayak at £10 each and were taken up the river for around an hour. This was fabulous and we saw loads of turtles, either swimming, sunbathing or getting jiggy as our guide put it, lol. Highly recommended.

We came back to the little beach and lazed around for a while before having a traditional ottoman kebab for lunch, fabulous value at 22 lira for two, served with rice, chips and a lovely salad with olives and a big bowl of crusty bread to dip in all the lovely olive oil the kebab was cooked in. The owner then brought us some water melon with ice and a glass of wine on the house. Overall a great relaxing day in peaceful surroundings, just what you need sometimes to escape the madness of Marmaris.

Other than that, I can highly recommend the Mega Diana boat trip, this was our third trip on the Mega Diana (bookable via Donatella Travel only) and nothing changes. Its still the best boat trip in Marmaris without a doubt, don’t miss it!

Did the usual Atlantis and Aqua Dream waterparks. I personally prefer Atlantis as although its older, the sunbeds are much nearer the slides and you don’t have to wait an hour and a half for lunch like you do at Aqua dream, but those are separate reviews that I’ll need to write.

I hope this has been helpful for some of you who are worrying about going to AP. Try not to be, a holiday is what you make it after all. Don’t go expecting the Hilton, but neither is it Fawlty Towers. If you have a problem, speak to the staff there with a little respect. Don’t go in all guns blazing and you will get respect and help back. If it is anything serious then speak to Billy the rep who is around a lot, he will do his best to help you. Go, enjoy yourself, make the most of it. Oh and take plenty of money as Marmaris isn’t the cheap holiday it used to be!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Scottish
10 years 2 months ago
On arrival at hotel we were issued our room which was for bed and brekfast customers we were selfcatering complained to receipition and eventually get moved to the correct room this seems to be a pol1cy with this hotel just put you any where for your first night then you get moved after complaining. The rooms are very basic but what we got was clean. Second year at this hotel and see the quallity of the rooms going down hill maintenance needed. Rami and his staff in the resturant are fantastic entertainment and food first class. Plenty Sun loungers round the pools and they dont allow you to put your towels down early. Would go back to this hotel but would request my room at time of booking.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: LOw Cost Holidays

Recommended
Caz
This hotel has really upped its game
10 years 3 months ago
We stayed here last year and were not too happy bout the accommodation but we heard through friends that the hotel had been cleaned up and was in better shape than last year so we booked again for two weeks.

On arrival we were met but a friendly receptionist who took our bags to the room and carried our youngest daughter as we had our hands full with the other kids and checking in. The room was on the top floor and was very clean but basic but that was ok because we had a bargain deal.

The maids cleaned the rooms everyday and we only ate in the restaurant twice as we mainly ate out at a place 3 minutes up the road, Amadeus, as it had free entertainments and a better choice on the menu.

The kids enjoyed having the choice of 4 swimming pools and a slide and sad but true we enjoyed the afternoon bingo.

Over all this hotel has really upped its game and we would rebook here for nest year too. Had a great time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sandra
10 years 3 months ago
Having stayed at this hotel before I was very disappointed at the way we were treated upon arrival. At reception the rooms we paid for was not available and we were asked to share apartments until the morning when we would then be put into the correct apartments we refused and had to wait until the guy on reception tried to fix it out. The rooms were very poor and needed some maintenance we did report this, but nothing was done. The pools at the hotel were very good with plenty of sun beds. Staff nice, but were hanging around waiting for tips The last night of out stay the baliffs were in removing the air conditioning, beds and fridges I have been going to Turkey since 2002 and have stayed in a lot of hotels and this is the first one I have ever complained about I would never or recommend this Hotel to anybody
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Planet

Andy
11 years ago
For a family this is an ideal hotel,everything to hand.
Do not bank on getting the room you reserved and paid for as every single person that i saw was messed about with their rooms.We all booked self catering apartments and ended up with rooms with no catering facilities.On the plus side we were given a free safe and air con.Rooms spacious and clean but site comprises of four blocks.The bad block is the one with some of the air con units removed,avoid if possible.The newest block is the one above reception,so opt for this one if you have to change rooms.
Staff very friendly .These people love the english,not because they want to be your lifelong friend but to keep you in the resort bar as they think the english are loaded.You will love billy b******t who owns the jewellers,he will try anything to get you to buy his jewellery.
Dont believe the doubters as overall this was a great hotel,i was sceptical at first but enjoyed it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Great Late Deals

Recommended
John
11 years ago
Were only given one old, unclean towel, very little bedding and one toilet roll for the duration of the holiday. The toilet leaked every time it was flushed, that's when there was water to flush it with!Shower was ancient and we only had hot water twice during the entire stay.Rooms did not get cleaned, only bins emptied. After 5 days I had to request a change of bedding and towels. Management at this hotel were unfriendly and were not happy to deal with requests or complaints.Pool area was unclean and in general the whole complex needs refurbished.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and will definately not return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Tracey Graham
11 years 1 month ago
we arrived in the early hours and were greeted by the night staff ,who were very helpfull. we were taken to our room which turned out to be under ground, on opening french doors,we found we were under the splash pool for the slides.not good as there were steps right across doorway ,no rails and an entrance to the pool plant room. my daughter is only 7 and we found this very distressing.we were moved the next day to a much better room facing the road,but found this fine.
the poolside was always busy, people put towels out really early so found it hard some days to get a bed.
the lads round bar and pool were fab, always happy to help. the pools were good kids had a great time,there was something for every one 2 small pools for toddlers and 3 big pools to play and the slides were on twice a day, which was good as kids didnt want to come off them,i am a swimming teacher and recomend this hotels pools , we ranged from 2yrs to 41yrs everyone enjoyed it.
The rooms could have been better cleaned,they were not dirty just more changes of towels and sheets.you have got to go to HOT STUFFthe best bar just round the corner, lads are great spent most of our nights there and breakfast only 99p xmy son also used the barbers further up, after he had his hair cut he went back every night and they gelled and styled free . xx think were going back next year, we all didnt want to come home there were 16 of us in total .
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.